Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Amazing, very crispy, great flavor, by far best recipe I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I love to cook and making things easy. After looking at every comment I went this route. Tomatoes have to be super green. No tinge of pink. I only fried one tomatoe and cut it 1/4 inch thick. I omitted egg because batter doesnt stick as well with egg and milk. On a wax sheet of paper pour 1/3 cup of cornmeal, flour, seasoned breadcrumbs. A dash of garlic powder, seasoned salt, and mix together. soak tomatoe in milk, PRESS into the mix and really squish it there. PEANUT OIL a must. Heat on high and when its ready carefully lay the tomatoes in there. dont move them around. when it gets a nice brown color then carefully turn over. cook and then transfer to paper towel. I made a dip suggested on here of mayo,mustard,vinegar, but I added spicy ketchup. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef love
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great!! Used jiffy corn bread mix because we had no cornmeal. Turned out great!! Try it with a side of horseradish ranch or regular ranch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good and easy to follow recipe! Although green tomatoes hold a lot of water, the second time I made them I let them sit out for awhile to let some water drain off...it was better a the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soshy So
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Tried this recipe. It's easy and awesome. I have lots of tomato plants & its abundant with green tomatoes! Perfect for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Perfectly delicious! I added a few shakes of garlic powder and paprika to the flour along with the salt and pepper. I also added parmasan cheese to my bread crumbs. Plus, I make sure to salt them a little bit right after I take them out the frying pan. These were "stupid" good!! Just as fabulous, if not even more so, then any I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Yum! Served with a remoulade. Even my 2yo gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I prefer my tomatoes to be a bit on the pink toward red before frying. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenfondren
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family loved the recipe. The only adjustment I made was I used mushroom batter instead of cornmeal because I was out of cornmeal. I also doubled the recipe for my large family. They all loved it. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenfondren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is excellent! I have never had fried green tomatoes before, but had an abundance of them in the garden this year, so looked here for a recipe, and found this. Here are some minor modifications I made the second time, which solved that problem: I sliced the tomatoes and laid them on paper towels on a platter. I salted them lightly. Before frying them, I dried the tops with another paper towel. I reduced the amount of milk mixed with the eggs to about 3 tablespoons. Because we like spicy food, I added a teaspoon of cayenne to the cornmeal mix, and when the tomatoes were served, I topped each slice with a spoonful of red salsa. This recipe is a 5 star as printed; I am just adding my changes if someone is looking for a slightly different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States