Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I make this all the time and love it!! - I ususally grate the cheese as am too hungry to weight for cubes to melt - also, heat the wine in the microwave - but usually room temp is okay too - just bring to simmer before adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Mine came out really lumpy and didn't have much flavor. I'm rating it as I made it before I made adjustments. I added a pinch of nutmeg, salt, and some garlic powder which gave it a little flavor. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for New Years Eve and was a hit for my family. The taste was fabulous and very simple to make. We heated the leftovers in a saucepan, added salsa and poured over chips for nachos. Wow, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Tasty and pretty easy to do. We had leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
have not tried the recipe as written, only as reviewed (like everyone else) Warming wine, adding shredded cheese worked great. I used two kinds of Swiss and a med cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We had this for New Year's Eve. Wow! It was so good. We all decided on the spot that this fondue would be our new NYEve tradition. We did make some adjustments based on other reviews, namely we shredded the cheese and tossed the flour in it - and btw I was not super strict on the exact 7oz of each - I think I had about 8oz of each and just used it all. Eliminated the butter. We use 1 cup of Reisling and 2 tsp of christopher ranch crushed garlic. OMG to die for yummy. We also borrowed a friend's electric fondue pot - wow was it awesome - heats up in about 10 sec and you have totally melted fondue in about 3 minutes. Favorite dipping tidbits: parboiled broccoli, bread, cooked italian sausage, grape tomatoes, parboiled carrots and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe was excellent! Tried it out for the first time on New Year's Eve...usually don't do first time recipes when we have guests. Had a ready-made fondue from the grocers as back-up just in case. This was simple though. Heated, didn't boil Robt. Mondavi Sauvingnon Blanc (sp?) and then added that to the roux and then the cheeses. Excellent...served it with cut and heated whole grain bread. Simple and delish! Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was a delicious blend of cheeses. I used a smoked sharp cheddar which was an excellent choice. It doesn't get 5 stars because it wasn't as creamy or coating the food as well as we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I make this fondue at least once a year and have for the last 3 or 4. I decided I should rate it. I make it exactly as is, but rub a garlic clove on the inside of the fondue pot, and it is always creamy and amazing. If you don't like it, you must be dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DacDacDylacPac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I shredded all of my cheeses to allow for the simplest melting. You can't put cheddar cheese in this fondue with great swiss-style cheeses and expect it to turn out well. The cheddar acts as it does with all dishes and becomes stringy. The cheese won't stick to your food the way a good fondue should. I took out the cheddar on my second try of this recipe. I used 12 oz. of the Gruyere and of the Emmentaler (Jarlsburg can also be substituted for either of these 2 cheeses and is one of my personal favorites). It came out great the next time. Just don't use the cheddar. It won't turn out like a good fondue should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States