Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This turned out awesome. I used Swiss and Gouda and fresh parmesean. Used a nice white wine that I would drink. I shredded and added the flour to that as others mentioned and it worked great. I melted it on the stove top in a large pot then switched it to my fondue pot so it was faster :) Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele Grigsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I am sure this recipe would be considered great by those who were fondue aficianados. The expensive cheese and wine married perfectly, no problems with all of the great suggestions here. My issue is that I was not prepared for the flavors of these cheeses (I confess I am a beginner foodie), and my family of 5 deemed it inedible. In fact, this was our first fondue experience, and as dissapointed as we were with this, we abandoned our plans to have chocolate fondue as a dessert! To add insult to injury, the cheese burned in the bottom of my fondue pot (my fault entirely) and the smell from these cheeses is forever implanted in my nasal cavaties. Suffice it to say that I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Tried this on Christmas eve - since it was only myself and my fiance we used 4 oz of each cheese - grated them and tossed with the flour - eliminated the butter. I did rub the garlic clove in the fondue pot, and simmered a sauvignon blanc first which has just the right acidity. We did need to use lemon to prevent stringiness and it added a fantastic tang to the dish. It was so good (with a crusty organic french baguette which I cubed) that we made it again last night. I think this is a future favorite. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Super Delicious... didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great starter fondue! Changed a few things: Rubbed a clove of garlic in the saucepan, then diced a bit and roasted with a bit of butter. Added 1.5 cups of wine and let simmer down for about 10 minutes. Mixed flour with SHREDDED cheese and coated evenly - used about 3 tbsps. Slowly whisked in cheese and it was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
For my first time making fondue, this recipe was amazing! I didn't follow the recipe to a T, but i took the advice from the other reviews and used the certain kind of wine thats better and we couldn't find Sharp Cheddar cheese so we just used extra old! I'm am not a big fan of wine so im glad that the flavor was not dominant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerD2316

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe almost exactly and it worked beautifully. The only thing I changed is I used a creamy swiss instead of emmantaler because I couldn't find it at Trader Joes. The flavor was very rich, but not too strong. Even my picky 5 year old loved it. I didn't get any stringiness like some of the other reviewers, and heated it up the next day and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I don't like fondu and only make it because it is my daughter's favorite. This fondu was amazing. I enjoyed it so much I will definitely be making fondu a lot more often. I didn't change a thing. Best Fondu Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Served it at my first fondue party and not only did we have NONE left, everyone stated it was the best fondue they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States