Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Tried this on Christmas eve - since it was only myself and my fiance we used 4 oz of each cheese - grated them and tossed with the flour - eliminated the butter. I did rub the garlic clove in the fondue pot, and simmered a sauvignon blanc first which has just the right acidity. We did need to use lemon to prevent stringiness and it added a fantastic tang to the dish. It was so good (with a crusty organic french baguette which I cubed) that we made it again last night. I think this is a future favorite. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Super Delicious... didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great starter fondue! Changed a few things: Rubbed a clove of garlic in the saucepan, then diced a bit and roasted with a bit of butter. Added 1.5 cups of wine and let simmer down for about 10 minutes. Mixed flour with SHREDDED cheese and coated evenly - used about 3 tbsps. Slowly whisked in cheese and it was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
For my first time making fondue, this recipe was amazing! I didn't follow the recipe to a T, but i took the advice from the other reviews and used the certain kind of wine thats better and we couldn't find Sharp Cheddar cheese so we just used extra old! I'm am not a big fan of wine so im glad that the flavor was not dominant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerD2316

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe almost exactly and it worked beautifully. The only thing I changed is I used a creamy swiss instead of emmantaler because I couldn't find it at Trader Joes. The flavor was very rich, but not too strong. Even my picky 5 year old loved it. I didn't get any stringiness like some of the other reviewers, and heated it up the next day and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I don't like fondu and only make it because it is my daughter's favorite. This fondu was amazing. I enjoyed it so much I will definitely be making fondu a lot more often. I didn't change a thing. Best Fondu Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Served it at my first fondue party and not only did we have NONE left, everyone stated it was the best fondue they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I took the advice of other reviews and.. 1. Shredded the cheese instead of cubed. 2. Tossed the shredded cheese with the tbs of flour prior to putting it in fondue. Why? This was the first time it has not turned out stringy. It melted perfectly. 3. I rubbed the fondue pot with garlic, then added the tbs of butter and heated. Then I added the wine to a boil, slowly whisked in the cheese. Hint: I purchased the three cheeses in this recipe at Costco for a fraction of the cost of the deli. Served with: Rosemary garlic bread from Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Didn't work out like I'd hoped, but I'm going to retry it with some variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States