Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Like everyone else. Some personal changes were made. Instead of using a dry white wine, I used Magners hard cider. Secondly instead of flour I used cornstarch. I omitted the butter and had roasted some garlic and rubbed that around the pot. Shredding is totally the way to go for the cheese. I simmered versus boiled. I gave the recipe a 5 since it pretty much gave me a simple starting point and the flavors were great. If you gave this a bad review then cooking is not your forte. The idea is to change things to your liking. That's how recipes evolved over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is a very yummy cheese fondue! I rubbed the inside of my pot with garlic before adding the mixture. I also used a squeeze of fresh lemon juice to keep it grom getting stringy. Also, definitely shred the cheese instead of cubing it. You can really taste the white wine so if you are not a fan you may want to try another recipe. It can also be quite expensive if you use good cheese but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is the first time I've made cheese fondue and this recipe was easy and delicious! I took advice of others and shredded the cheese and then mixed with the flour before adding to the wine. I had a slight problem with the fondue separating, but that was fixed by putting it back on the stove. I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
easy, not great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
totally excellent. make sure you use very sharp cheddar; otherwise the fondue won't have quite enough "bite". I grate all of the cheese instead of cubing it - easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I thought this was very good. Apparently my family does not care for cheese fondue, so I had most of the batch leftover. I layered peeled sliced potatoes, onions, chopped leftover ham, 1/2 of the leftover fondue, repeated the layering and baked for about an hour at 350 degrees. It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband loved this. I thought it was okay as the wine taste was a little strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was divine. For the record I used Pinot Grigio and it was perfectly delicious. I also used about three tablespoons of flour that I tossed with the cheese before adding to the wine. I rubbed the saucepan with a clove of garlic before doing anything. I did use a squeeze or two of fresh lemon. I transferred the whole thing to an electric fondue pot and dipped toasted rosemary & olive oil bread into it. It was a great way to ring in 2011.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This turned out awesome. I used Swiss and Gouda and fresh parmesean. Used a nice white wine that I would drink. I shredded and added the flour to that as others mentioned and it worked great. I melted it on the stove top in a large pot then switched it to my fondue pot so it was faster :) Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aloha oregon mom of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I am sure this recipe would be considered great by those who were fondue aficianados. The expensive cheese and wine married perfectly, no problems with all of the great suggestions here. My issue is that I was not prepared for the flavors of these cheeses (I confess I am a beginner foodie), and my family of 5 deemed it inedible. In fact, this was our first fondue experience, and as dissapointed as we were with this, we abandoned our plans to have chocolate fondue as a dessert! To add insult to injury, the cheese burned in the bottom of my fondue pot (my fault entirely) and the smell from these cheeses is forever implanted in my nasal cavaties. Suffice it to say that I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States