Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Amazing!!! Used cave-aged Gruyere. Served with celery, carrots, pumpernickel bread, pretzel bread, and grilled bratwurst. Definitely will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
While the taste was excellent, I made the recipe as described and the whole thing curdled. I used a dry Riesling as the wine and someone in the reviews mentioned that lemon juice would make it less stringy so I added a little bit and that actually seemed to make it worse. I'm not really sure what happened. I think it was the cheddar. It was fine until I put that in. I might make this again with only half the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made all in the fondue pot. Heated wine to a boil. Like others suggested, I simply mixed the flour with the cheese, and added a cup at a time to the wine. Turned heat down to 250 -warm and enjoyed immensly with cauliflower, carrots, apples, pumpernickel bread, and grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I read a number of the reviews and had some good results. I can't sit here and say what should or shouldn't be done or why. But I can mention what I did and that it was really good. I used a sauvignon blanc, just a regular bottle, nothing too pricy, but [arguably] not bottom of the barrel either. Got good cheese, shredded and added the flour to the shredded cheese. I simmered the wine right in the fondue pot and the added the cheese a little at a time. (no butter) The only real trouble I had was keeping the cheese melted right, but that's hardly the recipes fault, this is my first fondue so I'm still learning how to use the pot. I had also made this as an appetizer to a steak dish (mustard/parm crusted NY strip) and everyone enjoyed dipping the steak into it more than they did the bread/apple/veg I had prepared. Wife's Birthday dinner successful, brownie points to offset what I did for v-day accepted. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
very good, make sure you spend the money and get the right cheese, it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Loved this recipe. The blend of cheeses was absolutely perfect. As other reviewers suggested and as is standard for fondue, I tossed 3 T of flour with the cheese rather than making a roux. i also simmered a crushed garlic clove in the butter 'cause my family and I love garlic. I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce, but i don't think that was absolutely necessary. I highly recommend this recipe. We served it with barely steamed broccoli, cut up apples, raw mushrooms and cut up french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy to make, and delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe was great. I used Reisling for the wine wine, grated gruyere and cubed/diced emmantaller & cheddar (because they came pre-sliced at sam's club and it was easier to just dice them up). No clumping and I did not need to use any lemon juice as suggested by others who rated this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wonderful and easy to boot! We dipped broccoli, apples, and home made bread (Artisan bread in 20 min a day basic recipe) It was a nice change form our regular Swiss fondue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The flavoring was good but I didn't like the gritty texture. Perhaps I didn't cook the flour long enough? It seemed to be burning rather than cooking, even with the temperature turned down. Careful when choosing the expensive cheeses. Right next to the Gruyere for $9.99/lb was a choice for $19.99/lb. so there are clearly choices out there. Buyer beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States