Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Made fondue for a wine pairing party. Success! Everyone loved it. My fondue pot sucked, it would be to hot or to cold. We added some more warm Chardonnay which helped out a bit. Cheeses worked well together. Easy recipes Easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
YUMMY! My friend made this for our Bunco group and it was a big hit. I can't wait to have it again! I am so glad she forwarded the recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I found this recipe to be excellent. This was the second fondue I have ever attempted and it turned out great. I followed the suggestions here: shredded cheese, no butter, cornmeal, mixing the cornmeal with the cheese. It turned out excellent. I had problem with stringiness but only when the cheese got cold, as long as it was warm it was very easy to dip and eat. I reheated it twice with out problem. ON the second reheat it did get oily but with a little more heating and stirring fixed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Following other comments I used 3 tbsp cornstarch instead of flour and left out the butter, and I grated the cheeses in my food processor and mixed the cornstarch in with them before adding to the wine (Sauvignon Blanc). Also, I used Edam in place of Emmentaler, but only because I couldn't get Emmentaler nearby. The result was truly a perfect fondue and my girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The cheese was really good. I cooked it in my fondue pot. It kept getting clumpy though which I couldn't understand why. We had to keep stirring it every so often to be able to actually dip things in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love this recipe. Making a roux is the only way I have been able to consistently make a great fondue. Try subbing in smoked gouda for one of cheeses to add a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am a cheese lover and I made this for my friend's birthday party and we loved it. Would definitely make it again. My fondue pot wasn't the best so I might buy a better one because the cheese was still a little harder than it should have been and it stuck to the bottom of the pot. But overall it tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was wonderful! I was unable to find Emmentaler Cheese exactly, so I substituted a high quality swiss. I also used high quality gruyere and sharp cheddar. (The cheeses were pricey, but I think you have a better result with better cheese selections.) I chose to add Sauvignon Blanc for the wine. We dipped summer sausuage, steamed asparagus, steamed dutch white mini potatoes, pear wedges, and french bread. Everything tasted great! (Especially the pears.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum. Yum yum yum yum. We followed the advice of others and used Sauvignon Blanc. Our supermarket didn't have Emmentaler so we substituted a very expensive regular swiss. We grated the cheese prior to adding it to the wine, and stirred constantly as it melted. I also added a little kirsch. The taste and texture were perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I thought this was very good!.. I did add some some garlic powder and a dash of dry mustard, salt and pepper!.. When I got done it was too thick, so I reduced a little more wine down and whisked it in.. Served for my sons b-day dinner. I thought it was great.. Not really the flavors the kids go for though!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States