Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just tried this recipe last night, and per others suggestions I made a few alterations that I was happy with. 1) I bought all three of my cheeses at Trader Joes 2) I cut them into cubes then put them in my Vitamix Blender to 'shred' them. 3) I put the cheese in a plastic Ziploc bag and mixed about 2 teaspoons of flour and 1 teaspoon of cornstarch into the bag. The reason I put them into the bag is because I prepped EVERYTHING for my fondue party ahead of time. So you could skip this step if you were making the fondue right away... but don't skip the flour and cornstarch. 4) I heated the wine- used a dry pinot grigio in my enameled cast iron put. Cut a garlic glove in half and let that just hang out in there. Once the wine was about to boil, I stirred the cheese in. 5) Right before I transferred it to the fondue pot holder, I squeezed 2 lemon slices into the cheese mixture. (I just left the garlic clove in there to hang out.... no harm) It was delicious, not to 'stinky cheese', very good light flavor, and coated the bread and apple slices awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a huge hit with our dinner guests! I could not find Emmantaler so I substituted with Gouda. I baked beer bread for dipping and was pleased with that choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Stockman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Absolutely excellent. The Sauvignon blanc is a must and the tang of the cheddar, perfection. BUT... The directions stink! I looked up Alton Brown's directions, cause seriously, that guy knows everything! (1) use good cheese b/c the oils help in melting. (2) GRATE the cheese (3) omit butter and flour and instead mix 2- 3 tbsp of corn starch into the shreaded cheese. Use your hands to make sure the starch is fully integrated. (4) on a stove top heat Sauvignon Blanc wine to simmer. Add juice of 1/2 lemon (not bottled) and SLOWLY add cheese stirring constantly (I used a whisk) add more wine if too thick. (5) transfer to fondue pot and keep warm with very low flame. The cheese will become grainy if it gets too hot. This was a hugh hit at my Superbowl party. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1onefish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used low sodium chicken stock instead of white wine since I don't like cooking with alcohol. I also didn't have Emmentaler cheese so I used a little mozzarella. It came out great. I had no problem cubing 1/2" pieces and stirring in the cheese in small batches with a silicone whisk till it all melted. My husband and I ate this with tortilla chips. My only complaint was I'd prefer it a little more smooth so I'll try the lemon juice trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Taste was good but ended up getting stringy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I DID IT BEFORE BBQ WITH WHITE WINE . IT WAS EXCELLENT MY FAMILY LIKED IT MANUEL MALTA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Amazingly easy and very good - I added the juice of two small lemons to ensure it was nice a smooth. Shredded the cheese too - which I think helped - thanks to comments by others. Must admit, Emmentaler isn't easy to find so I used Edam. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
We just got a fondue pot and were eager to try it out for Valentines day. This recipe was easy and so yummy! We couldn't believe how tasty it was and how fun! We will be making this one again and maybe next time for company! Half ing the recipe was perfect for two with bread, broccoli, zucchini, carrots and pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I followed John's suggestions, used Gruyere, extra-sharp white cheddar, and Jarlsberg cheeses because that's what I could find easily, and it was wonderful! I especially appreciated the suggestions of pears and steamed potatoes for dipping. This is our new favorite recipe for cheese fondue - thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe and we loved it. The only problem we had is that the cheese started to harden and clump in the fondue pot. Not sure how to keep the same consistency from the beginning but other than that my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States