Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My family couldn't get enough of this at Super Bowl. I subbed black eye peas for the corn-just personal preference. Also added garlic powder and some hot pepper sauce to kick it up. We love this with corn chip scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome. I changed it a little. I reduced it by half and still got a medium bowl full. I used regular vinegar vs rice vinegar and used a little more sugar to make up for the regular vinegar. My family could not get enough of it, ran out of scoop chips before I did the dip. Loved it and will make on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Great recipe, I would recommend using only half the amount of beans and corn, but exact amounts of everything else. Kick it up a bit with some "Frank's Red Hot". This is great party food, you will get a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Excellent! I served this recently at a Mexican themed birthday party for my husband and got many compliments. I made the night before. A few people even took some home. This will be a regular for us from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I agree it makes a lot, I would cut in half next time. I did as the other member did used regular vinegar and little more sugar and it was wonderful Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Excellent! Substituted cider vinegar for the rice vinegar. Also used 2 jalapeno peppers the second time I made it, which gave it a little more zip. We like it with corn scoops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is wonderful! Then I wrapped it up in Jalapeno-Cheddar soft tortilla with sour cream, lettuce and a little turkey and it made a fabulous wrap! A recipe will give us lunches for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Yum Yum! It makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this was pretty good the first night, but it was delicious the next day. I served it as a side dish (no chips), and I modified it somewhat based on personal preference: I omitted the pinto beans; added tomatoes and nopalitos (pickled cactus); used fresh corn and garlic; used freshly roasted Hatch green chiles (’tis the season in NM); subbed agave for sugar; and didn’t cook the dressing. I thought it was a touch too sweet the first night, but by the next day the flavors had blended and the heat of the chiles really came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I skip the green pepper and use an orange or yellow. I also use green onions for the onion. I use a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of oil. I aldo incorporate 2 cloves of minced garlic into bean mixture and skip powdered garlic. I have not tried this with cilantro although I do like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States