Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Terrific! A big hit at a party and I found the leftovers made great burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was a big hit as a summer snacker at our family's lake house. This can be made and snacked on over the course of a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this to serve at our house to eat while watching a football game and we almost finished it an hour before the start of the game! THIS WAS DELICIOUS!! Served with lime chips and was a hit. I didn't make any changes and it was awesome as is! I'm definitely making this again in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love salsas and this is a great twist with a nice kick. It is awesome and fresh tasting. I used apple cider vinegar rather than rice vinegar and a little lemon juice and skipped the sugar. Also used the canned tomatoes with the chillies in them for a little extra veggies. Great for as a side salad or in a wrap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Made this for a family party - it was ok. Everyone liked it - but it didn't get rave reviews. I added some spices and tomato because i thought it to be a bit bland - and even after that I still found it to be a bit bland. Will I make it again? Maybe - but it definitely needs tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Made this for a family get together. Everyone seemed to like it, though no one raved. I thought is was a little bland but the basic recipe was good. I added another 1/2 jalepeno, and a little garlic powder..I thought it helped. Probably would make again with modifcations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
12/09 An almost guiltfree appetizer I'm with the group saying the recipe makes too much.I used 1black,1pinto,1corn,4oz chiles,1jalepeno(which was like adding more green if it's seeded & cored well.I added another not as well emptied.Improved much.Then had a little kick.); half red,half green,half onion,half dressing(Half of the half amont of oil - meaning 1/8c.That's a coffeescoop,btw)In dressing I tried half vinegar,half limejuice 1T sugar&1t fresh garlic.I couldn't taste the vinegar, which I liked;but not the lime too much either.What I'm going to do next time is a can of black&pinto,can of corn;4oz chiles;whole green&red pepper;2jalepenos;bunch of cilantro;a cup of red onion;only lime juice&a clove or two of fresh garlic with 1/8c olive oil.Seems to me the sugar would make the veggies weep more.You want some,but not to encourage.Gonna add tomatoes,too. First time around was good,but too beany.Think more veggies will balance it better.Might even try serving room temperature with refried beans to help bind the babies together.It tends to jump.4/12 'Tried again.Not so impressed this time.No, not bad;but no wows either.Did 1black,1pinto,2 green peppers,2japs,1/2c red onion,1c corn, 1/2bunch cilantro (bout 1c),2plum toms, 3cl garlic,1t kosher salt,1T olive oil,3T lime juice,a T chipolte pepper w adobo sauce,1/4t cayenne.Not so pretty ;D but still pretty healthy (Win!).Soo,if I make again,I'll add more lime juice&more spice.This is one to play with. 3 1/2 stsrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Oh this is soooo yummy. My family couldn't stop eating it at Thanksgiving. They were almost too full for turkey! I did make changes as I see many have. I used 2 cans of mixed beans, a "bunch" of cilantro which was probably a little over a 1/4 cup, half a medium red bell pepper and half a green one and a whole small red onion. I used about two tablespoons of pickled hot jalepenos, 4 cloves of garlic finely minced and substituted lime juice for the rice vinegar. I also omitted the sugar so didn't cook the mixture first just shook the lime juice and o o in a bottle to emulsify. I also made it the day before to let the flavours meld. Was a real hit and so much less expensive to make than our other favourite - seven layer dip! Easier on the waistline too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancanuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States