Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've been using this recipe as a base for my Texas Caviar for awhile now. Fixed it for my card club for the first time and had several "volunteer" to take some home with them (and request that I give them the recipe). You really can mix up the ingredients any way you want. It is the dressing that makes all the difference. The only change I make to it is that I use seasoned rice vinegar. Just way better than the Italian dressing! UPDATE: This is still my favorite and crowd favorite. I never use the Pinto beans. We just don't like them. What separates this recipe from all the rest is the rice vinegar mixture (I use seasoned rice vinegar) - DO NOT USE ITALIAN DRESSING. That makes this recipe like all the rest, which are good - just not as good as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good recipe, but I will definitely cut it in half next time unless I'm serving a huge crowd! When I make it again, I will reduce the oil by half, reduce the pinto beans by half and add chopped avocado. Very good with tortilla chips and BF liked it piled on top of the Salsa Chicken recipe from this site. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I loved this! I made it on a sunday and ate it as a snack throughout the week. Like others, I halved the recipe and it was plenty. I used seasoned rice vinegar and omitted the step where you have to heat the vinegar and sugar. Seasoned vinegar essentially does that for you. No need to add sugar at all. I used less oil, but more vinegar (I like things extra tangy). It could have been a tad spicier, so next time I will use more jalapeño and/or green chilies. I also used black eyed peas instead of pinto beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNIECE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Healthy and delicious! Great served wth whole wheat scoops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved this, works great as a dip, side dish or taco topping. I used black eyed peas instead of pinto beans and added a little salt and pepper to the dressing. My jalepeno was a little mild, next time I'd use two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this to take to a Daytona 500 party and everyone raved about it. It did make a lot but I'm okay with that. I have been taking leftovers to work and putting it on my salad at lunch time. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotus Bloosom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
So good. This has a little bite which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
YUM! I added some cold, cooked rice and made this into a salad. With some lime juice and sriracha for added "oomph" this was absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and it still made tons, but it was so good I could have almost finished it off myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
excellent flavor, easy to make. I added a can of black beans and chopped red pepper to add color. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
so good, top your salad with it and you have a unique lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States