Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I know how it frustrates some users (myself included) when folk rate a recipe after making substantive modifications, but here goes. I wanted to pass along some alternative directions, using fresh (rather than canned) ingredients. I used one pound each of fresh black-eyed peas and fresh black beans (simmered for about 45 mins in lightly salted water) and the kernels from five ears of fresh sweet corn (boiled for about six minutes). I also substituted one "sweet Texas" onion for the purple onion and added two avocados (both "chunked"). Other than those changes, I followed the recipe more or less exactly. Oh ... I added the juice of two limes and a scant tablespoon of salt (to compensate for the salt otherwise supplied by the canned beans and corn). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I received this recipe from a friend after eating this dip at her home. I prepared it at my house and many friends loved it. This recipe does make quite a bit of bean dip so you can share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I doubled it for a 100 guest pig roast. Only two changes - used 1 can pinto and 1 can small white beans instead of 2 cans pinto beans and added 2 diced avacados. I made it the day before and everyone loved it, but it even got better with one more day of allowing the flavors to develop and marry. So, if possible make two days in advance. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made a bunch and got better as the day went... Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was Grrrrreat! Everyone went on & on about this! Great summer dish for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Friend brought this dish to a picnic. Awesome food. Will be making this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added diced tomatoes and garbanzo instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've been using this recipe as a base for my Texas Caviar for awhile now. Fixed it for my card club for the first time and had several "volunteer" to take some home with them (and request that I give them the recipe). You really can mix up the ingredients any way you want. It is the dressing that makes all the difference. The only change I make to it is that I use seasoned rice vinegar. Just way better than the Italian dressing! UPDATE: This is still my favorite and crowd favorite. I never use the Pinto beans. We just don't like them. What separates this recipe from all the rest is the rice vinegar mixture (I use seasoned rice vinegar) - DO NOT USE ITALIAN DRESSING. That makes this recipe like all the rest, which are good - just not as good as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good recipe, but I will definitely cut it in half next time unless I'm serving a huge crowd! When I make it again, I will reduce the oil by half, reduce the pinto beans by half and add chopped avocado. Very good with tortilla chips and BF liked it piled on top of the Salsa Chicken recipe from this site. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I loved this! I made it on a sunday and ate it as a snack throughout the week. Like others, I halved the recipe and it was plenty. I used seasoned rice vinegar and omitted the step where you have to heat the vinegar and sugar. Seasoned vinegar essentially does that for you. No need to add sugar at all. I used less oil, but more vinegar (I like things extra tangy). It could have been a tad spicier, so next time I will use more jalapeño and/or green chilies. I also used black eyed peas instead of pinto beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNIECE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States