Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I make this whenever I need to bring a dish to share at work or family potlucks. It makes a ton, so it is perfect for sharing. It has been a hit every time I have tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe is great and was a hit at my Bunco party! Easy to put together. I added two plum tomatoes with mine. I did have lots leftover, but I'm okay with that. I'm just glad I have chips leftover too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
all i can say is FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evangelia Moser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this recipe!! I wanted to cut it in half, but ended up only cutting the beans in half and it still turned out great! I guess that's what you get when you are making a new recipe with kids under your feet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Charles, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very yummy dip, perfect for pairing with fajitas. I altered the recipe slightly following some of the other reviewers; I split the recipe in 1/2 with exception of the green chiles, prepped the peppers and onion in a food processor, added in a can of drained diced tomatoes and a can of drained sliced black olives. For the dressing I used pre-made italian (1/2 a cup) for ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I know how it frustrates some users (myself included) when folk rate a recipe after making substantive modifications, but here goes. I wanted to pass along some alternative directions, using fresh (rather than canned) ingredients. I used one pound each of fresh black-eyed peas and fresh black beans (simmered for about 45 mins in lightly salted water) and the kernels from five ears of fresh sweet corn (boiled for about six minutes). I also substituted one "sweet Texas" onion for the purple onion and added two avocados (both "chunked"). Other than those changes, I followed the recipe more or less exactly. Oh ... I added the juice of two limes and a scant tablespoon of salt (to compensate for the salt otherwise supplied by the canned beans and corn). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I received this recipe from a friend after eating this dip at her home. I prepared it at my house and many friends loved it. This recipe does make quite a bit of bean dip so you can share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena Priamo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I doubled it for a 100 guest pig roast. Only two changes - used 1 can pinto and 1 can small white beans instead of 2 cans pinto beans and added 2 diced avacados. I made it the day before and everyone loved it, but it even got better with one more day of allowing the flavors to develop and marry. So, if possible make two days in advance. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made a bunch and got better as the day went... Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was Grrrrreat! Everyone went on & on about this! Great summer dish for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States