Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I drain the dressing right before serving; makes it easier and less soggy when using with the "scoop" party chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is the BEST appetizer ever! Every time I bring it somewhere I get asked for the recipe. One time I was asked about 1 minute after placing it on the table! It is so easy to make and it makes a ton. I use black eyed peas in place of the pinto beans. We even put it on our burgers sometimes! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
CASSGIRL89, this stuff is amazing! I made it with black eye peas instead of the pinto beans out of personal preference, but kept the rest of the recipe intact. I could not keep folks out of the bowl when I put it out for the tailgate potluck. It was gone before I knew it (so glad I saved some in the freezer for me!). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT. I DOUBLED AND IT SAID IT WOULD SERVE 20 OMG IT WOULD HAVE SERVED ABOUT 50. GREAT ON FLOUR TORTILLA WITH BBQ. I changed pinto beans to light red kidney. Beans and left out the hot peppers and then add green chili's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very good! I doesn't LOOK so yummy, but once people start eating it, they can't stop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Very good. Obviously people can make changes for their preferences. We like 2 cans of corn to one can of black beans. Great for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Good but I think next time we'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenmouthstofeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great in the summer with some corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
It's not Texas Caviar without black-eyed peas, so I didn't even consider using black and pinto beans in this. (Not that I don't like both, but they're not for this dish) Used frozen corn and apple cider vinegar in place of rice vinegar. Very, very good, although this amount of sugar definitely means this is a pretty sweet dish. Use less sugar if you want the flavor to be entirely savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I never ever rate a recipe without eating a portion, but this is the one exception. I made the dressing as written, but the smell was absolutely atrocious and the flavor was even worse. If there was a recipe for "stinky gym sock bean salad" this would be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States