Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome!!! I did have the beans and corn as suggested. It made plenty. I used garbanzo beans instead of pinto, just a personal preference. I would suggest also halving the dressing too, I had to dump some out because it was too juicey. I definitly would take the time to make your own dressing...its so much tastier than the italian dressing! LOVE THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very pretty dish! I cut the recipe in half and still filled a medium-size bowl. It keeps well in the fridge though so I don't mind the leftovers. I didn't have pinto beans so used kidney beans instead and it was fine. Also, when I tasted the dressing, it seemed just a tad bit olive oil-y so I added a squirt of "Zesty Italian" dressing and that was good. We ate this as a side dish with Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas and also as a dip with tortilla chips. I prefer it with the chips but hubby liked it all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Christmas Eve - served with fresh baked pita chips and scoop tortilla chips. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought this was absolutely delicious, though it wasn't a big hit at my Christmas party. Someone commented that it was a pretty dish but nobody seemed to eat it except for me. I'll probably make this again as a cold salad but not for a party. I think our friends must not be bean eaters. FYI, this was easy to eat and delicious with Fritos Scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Should be called "Crack" Texas Caviar...it is that good. Used granulated Splenda instead of sugar. Made 5 servings but kept the 10-serving amounts of bell peppers, onions, vinegar and chile peppers. Also threw in 1/2 can of garbanzo beans I had left over. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. Every time I make it I get rave reviews and it disappears. Yes, it makes a lot, so if you are offering a lot of other dishes you might want to cut it in half. However, leftovers are great...I slice some grilled chicken and offer it up as fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was great, but I highly recommend that you half this recipe! I read the other comments and thought that since I was having a party I should leave it. I was wrong. I have a ton left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Really liked this recipe. I read the reviews and took some suggestions. I used navy beans instead of pinto beans, and half the cilantro suggested per my personal taste. Only complaint was too much oil. I will cut back on that next time I make it. There will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is one of our favorite recipes for this "Texas Caviar" I also half the ingredients - along with the liquid as if you use full it is was to oily - also used canned jalpenos. Always a crowd pleaser We have a bowl in the refrigerator at all times. GOOD GOOD GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Samaria, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
ive used italian dressing to make it easier and it is truly a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States