Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Yum Yum!! Cut recipe in half, but used the whole can of green chiles, and the whole jalapeno pepper. Did not make the sauce given in recipe, but used half a bottle of Zesty Italian. Served with Tostito bowls with a hint of jalapeno, got rave reviews. Thanks so much for a great recipe Cassgirl 89
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I took this recipe to a BBQ for the 4th and it received rave reviews. So many people commented that it was delicious and requested the recipe. I served it with tortilla chips, but people enjoyed scooping it up with celery, red pepper, and even used it as a condiment on their hot dogs and burgers! I cut the recipe in half after reading other reviews and it still made plenty for the crowd of 20 that were at the cookout. I did make the full amount of dressing, but reduced the amount of olive oil by 1/2 since some people said it was too oily. It came out great! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
LOVED this recipe!! Took it to a graduation party (1st time I ever made it) and everyone was asking for the recipe. I think I'll try adding avocado next time. This recipe makes a HUGE amount. I would cut in half if using as a dip (the whole amount makes a large "salad" :) It is very pretty with all the colors. Lots of chopping involved, although not a difficult recipe, just time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was easy and delicious. I used Bush's low sodium beans to cut down on the sodium a little, and didn't miss any flavor. I also added 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lime juice (because I had it handy). I made it to bring to my in-laws and was immediately told that some of them don't eat beans. Well, they ate this like crazy - ha ha! Great recipe - I'm planning to make more next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAugusta
Home Town: Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. It's the best.It refrigerates for quite awhile so is ideal for snacks and easy lunches. It's fantastic with corn chips or with avocado and cheese in a wrap. Try adding some cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is good. I halved this recipe, except for adding the full amount of green chiles because I had a whole can. I used yellow pepper instead of green. I did think there was something a little lacking in the dressing - maybe cumin. I may add some to the leftovers. This was great with grilled steak and lime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I brought this to a superbowl party and it was a hit although I thought it lacked 'personality'. I did way less corn, I only did black beans, and I added some salt and some garlic to it. It was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe was a great base for the way I like Texas Caviar. I ended up using two cans of black beans and one can of corn, then halved the rest of the ingredients. I added one tomato, diced and seeded and 1 avocado. Like another reviewer, I halved the dressing, and still found it to be too much. I also added 1/2 tsp ground cumin and 1/4 tsp ground corriander to the dressing and substituted 2 cloves minced garlic for the garlic powder. I like how this recipe boils the dressing and then lets it cool; that mellowed the flavor of the garlic a bit. With these additions, I give it five stars! Perfect "side" to bring to parties and BBQs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
So good! I added a can of drained chopped tomatoes w/chilies and skipped the can of chilies. I used a sweet onion and did not need any additional sugar. I also added some feta and avocado at the end. Served with some home baked torilla chips for a low fat high fiber treat. Great recipe for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome!!! I did have the beans and corn as suggested. It made plenty. I used garbanzo beans instead of pinto, just a personal preference. I would suggest also halving the dressing too, I had to dump some out because it was too juicey. I definitly would take the time to make your own dressing...its so much tastier than the italian dressing! LOVE THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States