Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A client of mine made this for my office one day and after telling me where she found the recipe, I came right out and added it to my recipe box. I made this for the first time yesterday for a picnic with my motorcycle club and everyone loved it. They were even eating it without the chips as a salad. Made exactly as written, with the exception of garlic. I doubled it. I like garlic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerstuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bath, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Sorry, but I found this to be WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I like the size of this recipe. I followed the recipe, except I use a bag of frozen yellow corn. It tastes great and is more colorful. It freezes well, so I put 8 to 16 0z containers of it in the freezer. Then when we have company or just have a craving, I just thaw it out. It tastes like I just made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I took this to an office potluck and had many recipe requests! I did leave out one can of pintos. I added one can of drained rotel, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KDS
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I have made it several times over the years and it always gets rave reviews! As others have said, the recipe as written makes a ton! If possible, make it a day in advance to allow all of the different flavors a chance to blend together, it's as close to a guaranteed hit as you will have at any get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I really like that this recipe made it's own dressing. However, the sugar was way too much for me - came out way too sweet. I would cut the sugar in half next time. I also like it less beany so I left out a can of beans, and used black eyed peas instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is so good I add it to rice for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love this ...only made half the recipe..it's a keeper...thankin you cassgirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is my favorite version of Texas Cavier. Healthy, easy and makes a ton! Get a couple bags of chips--you will need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The picture looks like it is topped with shredded lettuce however do not see it listed in the ingredients. Do you top it with shredded lettuce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States