Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I took this to an office potluck and had many recipe requests! I did leave out one can of pintos. I added one can of drained rotel, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KDS
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I have made it several times over the years and it always gets rave reviews! As others have said, the recipe as written makes a ton! If possible, make it a day in advance to allow all of the different flavors a chance to blend together, it's as close to a guaranteed hit as you will have at any get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I really like that this recipe made it's own dressing. However, the sugar was way too much for me - came out way too sweet. I would cut the sugar in half next time. I also like it less beany so I left out a can of beans, and used black eyed peas instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is so good I add it to rice for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love this ...only made half the recipe..it's a keeper...thankin you cassgirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is my favorite version of Texas Cavier. Healthy, easy and makes a ton! Get a couple bags of chips--you will need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The picture looks like it is topped with shredded lettuce however do not see it listed in the ingredients. Do you top it with shredded lettuce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I drain the dressing right before serving; makes it easier and less soggy when using with the "scoop" party chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is the BEST appetizer ever! Every time I bring it somewhere I get asked for the recipe. One time I was asked about 1 minute after placing it on the table! It is so easy to make and it makes a ton. I use black eyed peas in place of the pinto beans. We even put it on our burgers sometimes! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
CASSGIRL89, this stuff is amazing! I made it with black eye peas instead of the pinto beans out of personal preference, but kept the rest of the recipe intact. I could not keep folks out of the bowl when I put it out for the tailgate potluck. It was gone before I knew it (so glad I saved some in the freezer for me!). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States