Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is really good and everyone loves it! The first time I made this I left out the cilantro because one of the guests hates it, but I just made it with the cilantro and it was even better. Only change I made was to use 1/4 cup lime juice and 1/4 cup rice vinegar instead of the 1/2 cup rice vinegar, mainly because I really like lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome. I changed it a little. I reduced it by half and still got a medium bowl full. I used regular vinegar vs rice vinegar and used a little more sugar to make up for the regular vinegar. My family could not get enough of it, ran out of scoop chips before I did the dip. Loved it and will make on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I took this recipe to a BBQ for the 4th and it received rave reviews. So many people commented that it was delicious and requested the recipe. I served it with tortilla chips, but people enjoyed scooping it up with celery, red pepper, and even used it as a condiment on their hot dogs and burgers! I cut the recipe in half after reading other reviews and it still made plenty for the crowd of 20 that were at the cookout. I did make the full amount of dressing, but reduced the amount of olive oil by 1/2 since some people said it was too oily. It came out great! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I agree it makes a lot, I would cut in half next time. I did as the other member did used regular vinegar and little more sugar and it was wonderful Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
12/09 An almost guiltfree appetizer I'm with the group saying the recipe makes too much.I used 1black,1pinto,1corn,4oz chiles,1jalepeno(which was like adding more green if it's seeded & cored well.I added another not as well emptied.Improved much.Then had a little kick.); half red,half green,half onion,half dressing(Half of the half amont of oil - meaning 1/8c.That's a coffeescoop,btw)In dressing I tried half vinegar,half limejuice 1T sugar&1t fresh garlic.I couldn't taste the vinegar, which I liked;but not the lime too much either.What I'm going to do next time is a can of black&pinto,can of corn;4oz chiles;whole green&red pepper;2jalepenos;bunch of cilantro;a cup of red onion;only lime juice&a clove or two of fresh garlic with 1/8c olive oil.Seems to me the sugar would make the veggies weep more.You want some,but not to encourage.Gonna add tomatoes,too. First time around was good,but too beany.Think more veggies will balance it better.Might even try serving room temperature with refried beans to help bind the babies together.It tends to jump.4/12 'Tried again.Not so impressed this time.No, not bad;but no wows either.Did 1black,1pinto,2 green peppers,2japs,1/2c red onion,1c corn, 1/2bunch cilantro (bout 1c),2plum toms, 3cl garlic,1t kosher salt,1T olive oil,3T lime juice,a T chipolte pepper w adobo sauce,1/4t cayenne.Not so pretty ;D but still pretty healthy (Win!).Soo,if I make again,I'll add more lime juice&more spice.This is one to play with. 3 1/2 stsrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Great recipe, I would recommend using only half the amount of beans and corn, but exact amounts of everything else. Kick it up a bit with some "Frank's Red Hot". This is great party food, you will get a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
ive used italian dressing to make it easier and it is truly a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Awesome. This recipe got raves from all of my boyfriend's friends at our UFC gathering. I use my food processor to chop up the onion and peppers. I also used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies, juices drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Yes, this does make a lot, but that was a good thing because at the potluck I took this to, many people were eating it as a side rather than a dip. Great make ahead dish - I tossed it all together and kept it in the fridge for 24 hours before serving and it had a great flavor. The beans had softened up a bit, but that was a good thing, in my opinion. Only changes I made were a little less oil and I tossed in two chopped avocados right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very pretty dish! I cut the recipe in half and still filled a medium-size bowl. It keeps well in the fridge though so I don't mind the leftovers. I didn't have pinto beans so used kidney beans instead and it was fine. Also, when I tasted the dressing, it seemed just a tad bit olive oil-y so I added a squirt of "Zesty Italian" dressing and that was good. We ate this as a side dish with Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas and also as a dip with tortilla chips. I prefer it with the chips but hubby liked it all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States