Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My husband just can't get enough of this salsa. I add about 1/2 tsp of cumin and use basalmic vinegar. Great on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I like an assault on my tastebuds, so I add about 2.5 tsp of ground cumin, increase the garlic powder to 2 tsp and double the rice vinegar. I omit the oil and reduce the sugar to about 1 Tbs. Healthy and full-flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Yes, this does make a lot, but that was a good thing because at the potluck I took this to, many people were eating it as a side rather than a dip. Great make ahead dish - I tossed it all together and kept it in the fridge for 24 hours before serving and it had a great flavor. The beans had softened up a bit, but that was a good thing, in my opinion. Only changes I made were a little less oil and I tossed in two chopped avocados right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I always stayed away from making Texas caviar because of the use of Italian dressing, which I do not care for. So, when I saw this one I had to make it and it did not disappoint at all. I did have to sub kidney beans for the pinto beans, because that is all I had on hand, but I can't wait to try it with the pinto beans next time. The flavors are perfect. It goes well with tortilla chips or just plain...either way it is going to be my go to salad/salsa for the summer. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The first time I made this, I didn't pay close attention to the recipe and didn't cook the dressing. It worked just fine so I don't bother with the extra step - I just dump it all together. I make this so often that I do it from memory. I don't use the jalapeno or green chiles and usually forget the garlic powder, and it's still wonderful. Healthy and yummy, it's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeezKnees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Fabulous! Makes a ton, but it was mostly gone in one night. I made as directed, but next time I will add more chopped jalapeno, just for my taste. I'm not a big cilantro fan, but this recipe really tasted great with it. I didn't add quite as much as the recipe calls for, but I will next time. The taste and colors were fantastic, and the texture was nice in your mouth. Equally good to eat with spoon, or put into quesadillas the next day. None went to waste. I already gave away my printed copy! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved this recipe. Added avocado at the end with some more lime, as well as fresh chopped tomato. The recipe is great as is for a large party, but as suggested, I would cut this in half for my own family. Great as a dip or a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Awesome. This recipe got raves from all of my boyfriend's friends at our UFC gathering. I use my food processor to chop up the onion and peppers. I also used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies, juices drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
YUM. though, unless you're expecting A LOT of company - definitely halve the recipe. A half recipe still makes a giant bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Excellent! Went well with Turkey Burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States