Best-Ever Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I really like that this recipe made it's own dressing. However, the sugar was way too much for me - came out way too sweet. I would cut the sugar in half next time. I also like it less beany so I left out a can of beans, and used black eyed peas instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is so good I add it to rice for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love this ...only made half the recipe..it's a keeper...thankin you cassgirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Crispin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is my favorite version of Texas Cavier. Healthy, easy and makes a ton! Get a couple bags of chips--you will need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The picture looks like it is topped with shredded lettuce however do not see it listed in the ingredients. Do you top it with shredded lettuce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I drain the dressing right before serving; makes it easier and less soggy when using with the "scoop" party chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is the BEST appetizer ever! Every time I bring it somewhere I get asked for the recipe. One time I was asked about 1 minute after placing it on the table! It is so easy to make and it makes a ton. I use black eyed peas in place of the pinto beans. We even put it on our burgers sometimes! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
CASSGIRL89, this stuff is amazing! I made it with black eye peas instead of the pinto beans out of personal preference, but kept the rest of the recipe intact. I could not keep folks out of the bowl when I put it out for the tailgate potluck. It was gone before I knew it (so glad I saved some in the freezer for me!). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT. I DOUBLED AND IT SAID IT WOULD SERVE 20 OMG IT WOULD HAVE SERVED ABOUT 50. GREAT ON FLOUR TORTILLA WITH BBQ. I changed pinto beans to light red kidney. Beans and left out the hot peppers and then add green chili's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaynee Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very good! I doesn't LOOK so yummy, but once people start eating it, they can't stop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States