Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Made these cookies the other day and only thing I changed was the addition of some vanilla extract! Next time am going to add some butter flavor too for a melt in your mouth butter cookie flavor. These had a great texture, were a little chewy and couldn't get enough! Tip for rolling out: Take two sheets of waxed paper greased and roll with pin til flat and put in freezer for 10 minutes. When removing wax paper, add some powdered sugar so it doesn't stick, flip over, do to other side and cut out! SOOOOOOO much easier! and repeat with cutout left over =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I liked this recipe because it was easy to make and also very tasty too! I can tell you kids do like it for I am only 12 years (gr.7) old my self. I know that some kids say they like it when they realy don't. That is why I gave this recipe five stars! If you were wondering how I found this website it is because in famlay studys I am doing a cook book. I was looking for recipes on the internet! Hope to see you soon! Your friend teen_in_2001
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made these today for Christmas cookie cutouts. I used very small cutters and they worked great! AND very tasty. I haven't had very good luck with cutouts in the past in the flavor department. These are wonderful! I used powdered sugar instead of flour for rolling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These cookies are so easy to make and it was a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe! Although, I have to admit, I did some tweeking after reading the other reviews. I added an additional 1/8 -1/4 cup of sugar along with a teaspoon or so of vanilla extract to the dough. The end result were, honest to God, the Best Ever Sugar Cookies! Even my husband, who doesn't have much of a sweet tooth, loved them! They're great plain or with frosting. maybe next time I'll roll balls of dough into a cinnamon and sugar mixture for a variation on the Snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My daughter is allergic to egg. We have a crisp, shortbread-like sugar cookie recipe that is egg-free, and this recipe gives us a tender sugar cookie recipe too. You can change this up by skipping the nutmeg and subbing a tsp. of vanilla, or by putting a little fresh lemon zest in. I looked at the other reviews, and altered the recipe with 2 Tbsp. more of sugar and about 3 Tbsp. more sour cream. The dough is delicious, the cookies are tender. Rolled them out to 1/4 inch thickness, as 1/2 inch seemed way too thick. Baked about 10 minutes, then cooled on the sheet for a few minutes before transferring to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
very bland and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These cookies are definetly not the "Best Ever Sugar Cookies". However, with a few minor adjustments, they can be quite yummy! Instead of Sour Cream , we used vanilla yogurt. We used less flour, and more sugar, and added icing decorations on top of them. These simple substitutions made these cookies more enjoyable then the original recipe. - D&H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Yikes...not very tasty. They look pretty...that's about all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I found this recipe to be quite a disapointment. The cooking instructions were inaccurate and the bare taste was blande, and not sweet enough. I would not recommend ANYONE to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States