Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I found this recipe to be quite a disapointment. The cooking instructions were inaccurate and the bare taste was blande, and not sweet enough. I would not recommend ANYONE to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These cookies are definetly not the "Best Ever Sugar Cookies". However, with a few minor adjustments, they can be quite yummy! Instead of Sour Cream , we used vanilla yogurt. We used less flour, and more sugar, and added icing decorations on top of them. These simple substitutions made these cookies more enjoyable then the original recipe. - D&H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
very bland and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My daughter is allergic to egg. We have a crisp, shortbread-like sugar cookie recipe that is egg-free, and this recipe gives us a tender sugar cookie recipe too. You can change this up by skipping the nutmeg and subbing a tsp. of vanilla, or by putting a little fresh lemon zest in. I looked at the other reviews, and altered the recipe with 2 Tbsp. more of sugar and about 3 Tbsp. more sour cream. The dough is delicious, the cookies are tender. Rolled them out to 1/4 inch thickness, as 1/2 inch seemed way too thick. Baked about 10 minutes, then cooled on the sheet for a few minutes before transferring to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
THEY ARE NOT THE BEST EVER COOKIES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I liked this recipe because it was easy to make and also very tasty too! I can tell you kids do like it for I am only 12 years (gr.7) old my self. I know that some kids say they like it when they realy don't. That is why I gave this recipe five stars! If you were wondering how I found this website it is because in famlay studys I am doing a cook book. I was looking for recipes on the internet! Hope to see you soon! Your friend teen_in_2001
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe! Although, I have to admit, I did some tweeking after reading the other reviews. I added an additional 1/8 -1/4 cup of sugar along with a teaspoon or so of vanilla extract to the dough. The end result were, honest to God, the Best Ever Sugar Cookies! Even my husband, who doesn't have much of a sweet tooth, loved them! They're great plain or with frosting. maybe next time I'll roll balls of dough into a cinnamon and sugar mixture for a variation on the Snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made these today for Christmas cookie cutouts. I used very small cutters and they worked great! AND very tasty. I haven't had very good luck with cutouts in the past in the flavor department. These are wonderful! I used powdered sugar instead of flour for rolling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Yikes...not very tasty. They look pretty...that's about all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow. Well, I didn't chill the dough because it was already too dry. I added a tad of apple sauce to make it pliable. Also, added pecans and vanilla extract to add flavor. Still... tasted terrible. I wish I could give this a good review, but even with the tweaking, I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoraxAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kherson, Kherson Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States