Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is the best split pea soup I have ever had. I use a Dutch oven and blend 50% of it to make it creamy and still chunky! Love this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy delish recipe. I added mushrooms to the veggie sauté. Yum! Great with cubed Easter ham leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very good, first time having split pea soup. Kids were not much of a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used 1/2 cup onion instead of 2 (we don't love onion), simmered a little over an hour and it was ready to blend. An immersion blender worked great but it was hot! Probably should have let it cool a bit first. For salt free seasoning I used equal parts (about 1/3 tsp) tumeric, paprika, sugar, garlic powder and some dried onion. Only complaint is the color is orangish and not green when blended. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
OMG this was soooo good. I think i added too much broth so it came out thin (my fault). Instead of salt free seasoning blend (didnt have) i used cajun seasoning. Put the whole thing in a blender after cooking it for several hours and man o man was it stinkin delish! What i really loved too was that prep work was so easy and took about 10-15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rubino
Living In: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! I used bacon drippings from breakfast to saute veggies and garlic. Added a little white wine :) to get all the good stuff from the bottom of pan. Used Tony Chachere's Salt Free Seasoning (no MSG). Simmered with a smoked ham hock, two bay leaves and a teaspoon of dried thyme. Immersion blender worked like a charm to obtain a smooth and silky texture. My house smells AMAZING!!! Thank you for an awesome, basic split pea recipe that can be played with, or not!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I always make soups from scratch and this one was fantastic. For those who like a little more excitement, definitely add more spices, like curry powder. But even the regular taste was a hit with my we-only-eat-grilled-cheese kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Needs the ham. Bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
DH and I loved this soup! Ours was pretty much ready to eat at about the 2 hour mark of simmering since our stove has a higher than we'd like simmer. We didn't even puree any of this soup as it was fantastic just the way it is! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, except for pureeing at the end. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States