Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. The best pea soup I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Dee-licious!! I used leeks instead of onions, and forgetting to buy celery, added extra leeks plus some green beans. Simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
A solid easy to make puree of split pea soup. Suggest adding potatoe and a 1/4 tsp of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This is a great and easy recipe, the whole family loves it and when I ran out of chicken broth one time I used beef broth instead it was a great alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was easy and good, and just the right thickness. I used all green split peas, and didn't have any salt-free seasoning (such as Mrs. Dash) on hand, so I just used about 2 t. curry powder and 1/4 t. black pepper for seasoning. I like a little texture in my pea soup, so I only pureed about 3 c. of the soup in the blender, then added it back to the pot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This soup was wonderful. I had never had split pea soup that did not call for ham so I was concerned that it would not have enough flavor. I was quite surprised. I just put all the ingredients in a crockpot except for the oil and the salt free seasoning blend (I didn't have any). I only used green peas and I doubled the recipe except for the water. I used 12 cups of water instead of 16. I also used Wyler's Shakers boullion that is chicken garlic and herb flavor. Then I slow-cooked it for 6 hours. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Mine came out a little salty, and not as thick as I would have liked, but it's good nonetheless and really easy to make! I didn't have celery or the seasoning, but it worked well still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I used 99%, instead of fat-free, chicken broth. I didn't bother to puree this in the blender. After cooking, it was creamy already; the only pieces left were the carrots which I didn't mind. I'd suggest adding some more broth or water as needed, when cooking or reheating though. You may need more salt & pepper as well. This was a nice recipe as it tasted fine without adding any ham or beef for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
A wonderful soup! I didn't puree it because it cooked up so nice and thick. Also, mine was done after only about 1 3/4 hrs. (of course, the extra time simmering just added to the flavor). Will definitely try it with curry; that sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Excellent recipe. Thanks! Just like mom made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States