Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I've tried many recipes for split pea soup, but this one is by far the best. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Great recipe and easy to cook. I used all green split peas and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alcolu, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
So easy and so tasty. I get compliments every time I make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceygirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very simple recipe that is darn good. We didn't even add any salt or pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I was a little skeptical of this recipe as it did not call for any type of ham/bacon. However, this soup is very flavorful! The only change I did was use 4 cups regular chicken broth and 5 cups of fat-free low-sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any Ms.Dash seasoning and just used 1/2 tspn salt. Also, I didn't puree it. The consistency of the soup was ideal for us (on the thinner side). The only complaint I have is the amount of time it took to chop the onions, carrots and celery (gotta get a food processor!). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was outstanding, although I did change the recipe to suit my tastes and what was available in my pantry. I used only yellow split peas, and included some diced potato instead of celery as I'm accustomed to potato in split pea soup. I also did not use any of the seasoning blend, but instead just added some salt and relied on the vegetables and garlic to flavour the soup. I also did not puree the soup, as I didn't think it necessary. I ended up with a thick, flavourful soup that was a big hit with everyone. I will definitely be making this again. Easy to prepare, nutritious, and extremely tasty. This will be great for those cold winter nights! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Great recipe even though I had to tweak; I left out the celery and didn't use the seasoning blend-in fact salt and pepper was just enough. I also used vegi broth instead of chicken. The reason why I gave it a 4 would be because I found that 8 cups was too much--it cooked for the 2/12 hours but seems a bit watery. I'll defintitely follow this recipe again because the taste is there but cut the broth by a cup or maybe 2. I also threw it in my magic bullet and pureed it--nice!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
EXCELLENT Used 4 cans of low sodium ck broth. Scored 3 small smoked pork hocks. Also threw in 3 large bay leaves. Simmered 2 1/2 hrs. when finished, I put about 3 cups of soup in a bowl and blended with my immersion blended. returmed soup to pot and it was so thick the next day that I had to add another can of broth. Will definately make again. P.S. Hardly any meat on the hocks so I added 2 cups chopped baked ham. Had some leftover in fridge.I make this often and don't use the blender any more. If I think it needs to thicken up a little I just add instant potato flakes. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very good. I used all green peas and drizzled balsamic vinegar on top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
this was delicious. We had company over and used it as a side dish. It was hearty - my friend who is pregnant loved it. She is grossed out by pork right now so it was nice that it is meatless since a lot of pea soups have ham in them. I didnt have yellow peas so just used all green. Also I didnt blend anything. Let it just simmer. I eyeballed all the ingredients - guessing that it was pretty close to what was listd and it was great. A little curry was a nice touch. I simmered the soup for 75 minutes as many reviews said you could shorten the time; but the peas were not fully cooked (barely noticeable). Next time I would simmer longer. Very good, and the our friends kept saying how delicious it was. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States