Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was really, really good. It cooked in one and a half hours for me and it was perfect. Threw in some small diced potatoes in the last half hour, otherwise didn't make any changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good! I didn't have leaks (used a little celery) or bay leaves, but was still very good. Could have lost the rosemary. I only used three strips of bacon, but still very tasty... though I'm sure even better with 6. I also used some yellow split peas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Used all green peas and made this in my slow cooker. It rocks!! Used some red pepper instead of carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe. Its hearty and flavourful! I didn't have celery or green split peas so I doubled the amt of yellow ones I added. I also chose to try some without putting it through the processor - I like my food to have a lot of texture - and it was great that way too. But if you are cooking for two servings or less I should warn you to watch the time it can take as little as 45 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I think this is my new comfort food. I served this with brown and white rice on the side and it was really hearty and warming together. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Delicious! I only used yellow split peas - So i doubled the amount of split peas called for in the recipe. I added 2 sweet potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Usually I like to add a little meat to split pea soup but this one doesn't need it. I've made it as submitted and its very good. Also, one time I was short on chicken broth but I had a can of Trader Joe's onion soup in the cupboard. That was very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Instead of chicken broth, I substituted Knorr's chicken bouillon and did not add additional salt. I used the slowcooker after cooking the onion, carrot, celery and garlic for 2.5 hours and because I didn't want to puree the entire, I used a potato masher to smash the split peas, which left most of the carrots and celery in tack. This was a very delicious soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great flavor. I think I added too much carrot, but it was still yummy. Not mushy, a big plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very Good! I used an electric blending stick right in the pot, it worked great. Like most soups it was even better the next day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States