Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
FABULOUS. The original was great, but I happened to add a potato, leftover delacotta squash and chopped bacon. Oh yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wow, great recipe! I was so proud-look I made soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I'm not a big fan of split pea soup, but my hubby requested a split pea soup with no ham, so I made this one and it was excellent...not too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Thanks for the list and the way!! Added some personal tastes, and took great dramatic liberty,...worked out great. They keep asking for it. P.s. freezes great in ziplocs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good recipe. I didn't have a lot of time, so I only cooked it for about 35-40 mins. It still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! Super easy, relatively cheap, and delicious. The serving size is listed as 8 (which amounts to about 1 cup per serving) so if you're going to be using this as a main dish, make a double batch! A really great way to kick it up as a left over is to add a dollop of sour cream, some chopped tomatoes, and lots of pepper. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Soak peas over night in water; when done discard water. This step gets rid of all the gas in the peas and easier to digest plus less flatulence. Follow soup directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kokigendut
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very delicious pea soup. I like how it is pork-free! I used swanson's fat free, low sodium chicken broth. Since i dont have a seasoning blend, i added some black pepper and garlic. I would suggest adding only 1/2 teaspoon of salt or none until you finish cooking since it is already salty if you're using store-bought canned broth. Season to taste in your own bowl or when you're ready to serve. For color, I used only green peas and added a dash of cayenne, which also adds a nice kick. My family has split pea soup (erwtensoep in dutch) around christmas, it's a family tradition, and i love how easy this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was really, really good. It cooked in one and a half hours for me and it was perfect. Threw in some small diced potatoes in the last half hour, otherwise didn't make any changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good! I didn't have leaks (used a little celery) or bay leaves, but was still very good. Could have lost the rosemary. I only used three strips of bacon, but still very tasty... though I'm sure even better with 6. I also used some yellow split peas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States