Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I was surprised how good it tasted without ham. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was really suprized at how good this soup was.... Its so yummy! As long as you don't look at it, LOL! I made it by the recipe, and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fabulous. I hate peas and I loved this soup. Even my husband, notorious for asking me if there's "more" after we finish eating, felt full with just one bowl of this meatless soup. Amazing. Tonight I'm making it with diluted ham drippings instead of chicken broth...already smells delicious! Note: I thought it was better when pureed. Also, I think a few more carrots would be delightful too in order to dress up the color from "pea" to "pretty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! followed everything, except for using only green split peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
definitely one of the best I've ever tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Used beef broth and two cups of regular split peas (dried) everybody loved it excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good and very easy. I made it with veggie broth and omitted celery (blech). I used Italian seasoning and an equal amount of curry powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I have been a vegetarian for years and have been afraid of trying split pea recipes without ham. However, this recipe was so savory, with just a few changes. Along with all the vegetables I added 2 cups of diced potatoes, also replaced chicken broth with vegetable broth. Also, I did not have a seasoning blend, so added 1Tbsp of curry powder, 1 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp ground thyme, 1tsp parsley flakes and 2Tbsp soy sauce. After simmering for 2-1/2 hrs as suggested, the flavors were perfectly melded and I blended 1/2 the soup and left the remainder chunky. Absolutely yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
FABULOUS. The original was great, but I happened to add a potato, leftover delacotta squash and chopped bacon. Oh yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wow, great recipe! I was so proud-look I made soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States