Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is truly the Best Split Pea Soup Ever. This recipe is so good that I became an allrecipe member today. I made two substitutions to the soup. I used 1 cup of lentils for the green split peas, so my soup was 50% yellow split peas and 50% lentils. I also added Country Ham cubes. For my seasoning I used Ms. Dash Table Blend. The Soup turned out Great! Note: Since the split pea breaks down when cooking I do not recommend pureeing the soup but that is just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Was good, but I think next time less broth, more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinelovesrain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hancock, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Really enjoyed this. Used Penzeys "Mural of Flavor" for the salt-free seasoning and all green split peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was very good. I ended up cooking it MUCH longer though to get the peas as soft as I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Excellent! I pureed half of the soup and used green split peas only (because that's all I had). However, I used low-sodium chicken broth along with the amount of salt that the recipe called for and it was too salty. Next time I will cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This truly was the best ever split pea soup. I didn't use celery and put a little turmeric in instead of the seasoning blend. I also didn't need to puree any of it because it came out perfect without it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I was surprised how good it tasted without ham. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was really suprized at how good this soup was.... Its so yummy! As long as you don't look at it, LOL! I made it by the recipe, and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fabulous. I hate peas and I loved this soup. Even my husband, notorious for asking me if there's "more" after we finish eating, felt full with just one bowl of this meatless soup. Amazing. Tonight I'm making it with diluted ham drippings instead of chicken broth...already smells delicious! Note: I thought it was better when pureed. Also, I think a few more carrots would be delightful too in order to dress up the color from "pea" to "pretty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! followed everything, except for using only green split peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States