Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Needs the ham. Bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
DH and I loved this soup! Ours was pretty much ready to eat at about the 2 hour mark of simmering since our stove has a higher than we'd like simmer. We didn't even puree any of this soup as it was fantastic just the way it is! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, except for pureeing at the end. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
An absolutely delicious soup!! I put everything in a crockpot and cooked it on low all day. I made two small adjustments to the recipe to suit my taste by adding one small ham steak cubed and a generous pinch of hot pepper flakes. I may have used more liquid than called for as well. I put in two large tetra boxes of chicken stock and then filled the slow cooker to about 3/4 full with water. It turned out just right. Because I added the ham cubes, I did not blend the soup but I used a potato masher to smooth it out a bit. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Unbelievably good! Added extra onion, carrot, celery and 2 small potatoes. Also used another's suggestion and added some thyme, curry powder, parsley, oregano, 2 bay leafs. Plus 2 cups of ham leftovers. Truly a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
A basic split pea soup that is long on flavor. Simple to make. Added 1 tsp. of fresh rosemary and 5-7 bay leaves for a slight flavor boost. Recipe can be easily modified for individual taste preferences, including adding ham if so inclined. Followed directions other than simmer time reduced to about 1-3/4 hrs. If you like a chunky split pea soup, reserve some carrots, celery, and possibly split peas instead of running everything through a blender or food processor. Give this a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The right consistency, but I didn't blend it. I cooked it for an hour and 15min and that was enough. The peas broke down and I left the carrots chopped for some texture. I think it needed some more seasoning, but it was pretty good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good. Not quite as rich as one maked with pork but much healthier. I left it chunky & added chunks of cooked ham & quinoa. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is the Best Ever Split Pea Soup I have ever eaten. I am not a fan of ham so this recipe called me to try it. Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Filling, Delicious & will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
True to it's name: BEST EVER! I cooked this in a crock pot and used a stick blender to puree before serving. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States