Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Outstanding! This is now my new "Go To Split Pea Soup Recipe". I doctored the recipe a little (as I do with almost everything I make) by adding a medium potato and using celery seed because I didn't have celrey. I also cut back on the chicken broth to about 6 cups. This, and the potato helped to thicken the soup without having to add flour, which I think tends to bland soups. However, the base recipe was responsible for creating a wonderfully tastey soup that Robin should be proud of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Inna Nusinzon
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Mmmmm... best ever indeed. It came out yummy. I did not puree the soup at the end because I liked the chunkiness. Also, it looked ready after only an hour, and the peas were all soft, so I took it off the heat. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna Nusinzon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was not impressed. The flavor was fine, but it came out nearly as thin as water. Adding flour helped slightly. I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was delicious. I didn't have salt-free seasoning mix, so I took suggestions from other reviewers and used the following: 1/4 tsp each of rosemary, thyme, cumin, garlic powder (not "minced") and celery and 1/2 tsp curry. I didn't use any fresh celery. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used 1 Tbsp chicken flavored broth powder. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Great recipe! Flavorful, cheap, and filling. I didn't have salt-free seasoning, so I used some cumin and oregano. Cumin tastes GREAT in this soup. I bet different seasonings would be good as well. Yum, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I have made this several times and love it. My husband who is vegetable and soup phobic tried it and loved it. I was amazed when he asked for a bowl of it. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is truly the best pea soup I have had. I finely chopped up the veggies in my little processor and added about a 1/2 tsp of curry powder to give it a little zing. I used a hand blender to puree it. It turned out beautifully. I am the only on in my home to eat it, but who cares, the more for me :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I also added 2 Tbsp Ham base. It tasted wonderful, as if I cooked a ham with the soup for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
You know what?..my first time attempting this kind of soup and I have to say it was awesome!! I followed the recipe exactly except I added a smoked ham hock (I like meat) and simmered it with the soup...Every one in the family loved it including my picky 12 year old who ate 3 bowls after being forced to taste it...This is a definite "make again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
The soup is delicious. After only one hour I added a cup of diced ham and simmered another 15 minutes. I found that 75 minutes of simmering is plenty instead of the 2 1/2 hours stated. I too used an immersion blender (so much easier to blend right in the pot). I've made this twice now. When I told my husband I was going to make this (for the second time) he said "Like the last time? Cooool! Mmmmmmm!" Don't for get the crusty bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States