Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delish!! My changes: only green peas, instead of salt-free seasoning (didn't have) I used black pepper, curry and 4 bay leaves. I also did not add additional salt during cooking. I did not puree as I thought it was thick enough. There was a bit of broth and I liked that the carrots and celery were still mostly intact. Worried I wouldn't like it without ham bone/ham chunks. Needless energy waste. It was very tasty and I will make it again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was a very good basic vegetarian split pea soup. I really like it and add a little sriracha to my bowl. My daughter is vegetarian, so I am always on the lookout for something we can all eat so this is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is the best split pea soup I have ever had. I use a Dutch oven and blend 50% of it to make it creamy and still chunky! Love this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy delish recipe. I added mushrooms to the veggie sauté. Yum! Great with cubed Easter ham leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very good, first time having split pea soup. Kids were not much of a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used 1/2 cup onion instead of 2 (we don't love onion), simmered a little over an hour and it was ready to blend. An immersion blender worked great but it was hot! Probably should have let it cool a bit first. For salt free seasoning I used equal parts (about 1/3 tsp) tumeric, paprika, sugar, garlic powder and some dried onion. Only complaint is the color is orangish and not green when blended. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
OMG this was soooo good. I think i added too much broth so it came out thin (my fault). Instead of salt free seasoning blend (didnt have) i used cajun seasoning. Put the whole thing in a blender after cooking it for several hours and man o man was it stinkin delish! What i really loved too was that prep work was so easy and took about 10-15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rubino
Living In: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! I used bacon drippings from breakfast to saute veggies and garlic. Added a little white wine :) to get all the good stuff from the bottom of pan. Used Tony Chachere's Salt Free Seasoning (no MSG). Simmered with a smoked ham hock, two bay leaves and a teaspoon of dried thyme. Immersion blender worked like a charm to obtain a smooth and silky texture. My house smells AMAZING!!! Thank you for an awesome, basic split pea recipe that can be played with, or not!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I always make soups from scratch and this one was fantastic. For those who like a little more excitement, definitely add more spices, like curry powder. But even the regular taste was a hit with my we-only-eat-grilled-cheese kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Needs the ham. Bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States