Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I grew up eating split pea soup and this recipe is a great start, but for extra flavor we always use a leftover ham bone or smoked turkey leg. My mom used to add cut up pieces of polska kielbasa which she pan fried first. Omit any extra salt if you do this. I also like to add 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1 tsp pepper. Try it this way and you will be coming back for seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delish!! My changes: only green peas, instead of salt-free seasoning (didn't have) I used black pepper, curry and 4 bay leaves. I also did not add additional salt during cooking. I did not puree as I thought it was thick enough. There was a bit of broth and I liked that the carrots and celery were still mostly intact. Worried I wouldn't like it without ham bone/ham chunks. Needless energy waste. It was very tasty and I will make it again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was a very good basic vegetarian split pea soup. I really like it and add a little sriracha to my bowl. My daughter is vegetarian, so I am always on the lookout for something we can all eat so this is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is the best split pea soup I have ever had. I use a Dutch oven and blend 50% of it to make it creamy and still chunky! Love this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy delish recipe. I added mushrooms to the veggie sauté. Yum! Great with cubed Easter ham leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very good, first time having split pea soup. Kids were not much of a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used 1/2 cup onion instead of 2 (we don't love onion), simmered a little over an hour and it was ready to blend. An immersion blender worked great but it was hot! Probably should have let it cool a bit first. For salt free seasoning I used equal parts (about 1/3 tsp) tumeric, paprika, sugar, garlic powder and some dried onion. Only complaint is the color is orangish and not green when blended. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
OMG this was soooo good. I think i added too much broth so it came out thin (my fault). Instead of salt free seasoning blend (didnt have) i used cajun seasoning. Put the whole thing in a blender after cooking it for several hours and man o man was it stinkin delish! What i really loved too was that prep work was so easy and took about 10-15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rubino
Living In: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! I used bacon drippings from breakfast to saute veggies and garlic. Added a little white wine :) to get all the good stuff from the bottom of pan. Used Tony Chachere's Salt Free Seasoning (no MSG). Simmered with a smoked ham hock, two bay leaves and a teaspoon of dried thyme. Immersion blender worked like a charm to obtain a smooth and silky texture. My house smells AMAZING!!! Thank you for an awesome, basic split pea recipe that can be played with, or not!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I always make soups from scratch and this one was fantastic. For those who like a little more excitement, definitely add more spices, like curry powder. But even the regular taste was a hit with my we-only-eat-grilled-cheese kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States