Best Ever Slow Cooker Italian Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Perfect! I used an arm roast -cooked 7hrs on low. Added 1/4c wine mixed with 2TB cornstarch to sauce after removing the meat and veg. Best slow cooker roast I've ever made- ty for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe is incredibly easy to make. Due to other reviews about too much salt, I omitted the broth (used water instead) and salt. Since I was using this recipe for french dip sandwiches, when it was done cooking, I sliced the meat (used eye of round roast) very thin, put on french rolls, place provolone cheese on it, and broiled the sandwiches for a minute or two and used the juice for dipping. Next time if I plan to use it for sandwiches again, I would omit the onion and reduce the amount of dry dressing mix because the au jus tasted a bit like gravy which is what it is intended for if you eat it like a regular roast. For sandwiches I would tweak, for regular roast, I would do it the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I tried this for New Year's and it was AMAZING! Let it cook for about 8.5 hours and it definitely pleased the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is a keeper, but should be called a pot roast recipe. Made a few changes: added 1/2 cup of red wine. Used low-sodium beef broth. Added 1# pkg of frozen peas, 8-10 small red potatoes cut in half, 2 cups sliced mushrooms, 1# pkg of baby carrots. Cooked on high setting for 6-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love it! i didn't use au jus mix; I just used 2 cups of beef broth. It was fantastic! Very easy to make and an excellent "leftover dish!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Plums

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I just made this recipe without the salt after reading the reviews. Also, I added garlic, red potatoes and carrots. I browned the meat in bacon fat like someone had suggested also. Haven't tried it yet but it looks and smells like it's going to have a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe to a tee and I loved it! I'm following a low carb diet and was really craving a cheesesteak sub, so I melted cheese in my portion and it really hit the spot. Next time, I'll omit the salt because it was a little too salty for my taste but this recipe will definitely be added to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Gillette
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My entire family loved this recipe! It was easy to make and very flavorful. We made it with garlic mashed potatoes. Perfect combination. We will be adding this to our meal menu for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Thank you for helping me cook a deliciously tender roast! Before now, I couldn't make a roast to save my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Best flavor! LOVE this recipe! I added potatoes and green beans and it was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States