Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This sounds very much like a recipe my aunt used to make along time ago, except minus the peppers and add sauerkraut and use kielbassa sausage. has anyone ever heard of that? id love to have the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I often make a similar version of this with just a couple cans of tomato sauce and serve it over rice. It's always delicious and kids like it too. The beer sounds like a nice change, I'll have to try it. P.S. This is a HUGE recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe sounds so good as a change from just plain sausage. However, I would like to sub something for the beer. No beer in our house. What would be a good sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great recipe!! Will definitely use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used this for sandwiches and it wasn't as good as other SOP recipes I've tried. I cut the recipe down to a third because I was only serving 2 people. There was too much sauce and veggies for the amount of sausage I had, especially since I couldn't fit that many veggies on the rolls. I think this would be better as a main dish served with pasta or rice, which can soak up the sauce. I had the leftovers a couple days later. The beer gave the leftover sauce and veggies an off-note, and I ended up throwing some of the dish away. I used an IPA, as the recipe didn't specify what type of beer to use. I think a milder pale ale or a lager would work better if you planning to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Made with sausage patties to go on a bun with ranch dressing and colby-jack cheese. Used Italian seasoning instead of cilantro. I love sausage, pepper and onion sandwiches, but I thought the beer made the peppers taste rather bitter. I think I'll skip the beer as per usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I love it. It's full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this for a school potluck. Because there were children, I substituted the beer for water and added more herbs. After the food line diminished, I thought I would get some. The dish was totally gone!!!! My daughter told me later that it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this a few nights ago, I used 1.5lb of sweet ita sausage, 1 1/2 cans of a light beer, 1 full can of tom paste, 1 red onion and 2 red peppers with 3 cloves garlic and the recommended spices. I tossed this over a full lb of pasta. I thought it had a great flavor and did not take long at all to prepare which is always key!! Not to "soupy" at all, in fact it worked quite well as a pasta sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good dish, only used 1 red pepper, followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States