Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Very very good. I halved the recipe and used 1 pound of sausages - didn't slice them up but served on hoagie rolls with the pep "sauce" over them. At the very end of cooking I thickened with a hefty sprinkle of Wondra so it was saucy instead of soupy. Also used home grown Hungarian peppers as well as bells (half and half) so it had a good kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
BEBOC,Thanks for the idea of using the crock pot because i live in Las vegas and with the summer heat i do not use my stove as much as possible.Thanks again for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Halved the recipe. Added one jalepeno and one hot red chile pepper to substitute the hot sauce. Had to use a bit of corn starch to thicken due to the beer thinning the sauce excessively. All that being said, very tasty and hearty dish. Saved and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
the bear don't burn off. and I lovre my beer! too ritch and to strong, and dont feed to the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This sounds very much like a recipe my aunt used to make along time ago, except minus the peppers and add sauerkraut and use kielbassa sausage. has anyone ever heard of that? id love to have the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I often make a similar version of this with just a couple cans of tomato sauce and serve it over rice. It's always delicious and kids like it too. The beer sounds like a nice change, I'll have to try it. P.S. This is a HUGE recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe sounds so good as a change from just plain sausage. However, I would like to sub something for the beer. No beer in our house. What would be a good sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great recipe!! Will definitely use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used this for sandwiches and it wasn't as good as other SOP recipes I've tried. I cut the recipe down to a third because I was only serving 2 people. There was too much sauce and veggies for the amount of sausage I had, especially since I couldn't fit that many veggies on the rolls. I think this would be better as a main dish served with pasta or rice, which can soak up the sauce. I had the leftovers a couple days later. The beer gave the leftover sauce and veggies an off-note, and I ended up throwing some of the dish away. I used an IPA, as the recipe didn't specify what type of beer to use. I think a milder pale ale or a lager would work better if you planning to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States