Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used Sweet and Hot Italian sausage - the sauce needs a little something and I can't figure out what. The recipe was decent, but almost a little too tomato-y - and not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a dish with GREAT flavor! Served with white rice - next time might do pasta. Just perfect on the spice factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The whole family LOVED this recipe. I just swapped out dry Italian Seasoning Mix and Dry Basil for the oregano as I didn't have oregano and because we love cilantro, I actually increased it to 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was delicious...I made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Darn good stuff! I also added in chicken after browning and cubing like I did the sausage. My only change to the recipe would have been skip or use 1/3 of the tomato paste. I might add another bottle of beer in that case. But that is my personal taste. I used only 2 lb of meat and still had plenty for leftovers after dinner for 2 hungry adults. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It turned out pretty well, but I would recommend using a lighter flavored beer. Stouts work, but have a bit too strong a taste for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count_Zero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I halved the recipe. Skipped the red bell pepper (used more green), regular onions instead of the red, dried herbs (Italian seasoning- homemade) and a lime beer. Was tasty on buns with melted cheese the for dinner, and leftovers were just as good over rice for lunch the next day. The tomato paste was a bit much, so I'll probably use less next time and thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
WOW! This was soooo good! I used the recommendation for the crock pot version. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used a medium crock pot. I did end up using a whole 6 oz can of paste though to thicken it a little more. Also, to make it healthier I used low fat mild italian chicken sausage. I also used a light beer to lessen the beer taste. Did not use cilantro, used dried oregano and parsley. Next time I will wait to salt it and maybe use a low sodium paste though. The first night we had it on whole grain pasta, the second night as a sandwich. It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed except I substituted basil for the cilantro and used only 2 red bell peppers, no green peppers, and one red onion. Also, I used 3 lb hot Italian sausage and no hot sauce. We used Shiner Bock beer. The sauce was thin, bitter, and far, far too "bell pepper-y" in flavor. We fished out the sausages and will use them in sandwiches, with spaghetti sauce, kind of like a meatball sub. But my husband complains about the waste of two beers and I'm sad I wasted the peppers and onion. Sorry, I know I'm swimming upstream on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States