Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used this for sandwiches and it wasn't as good as other SOP recipes I've tried. I cut the recipe down to a third because I was only serving 2 people. There was too much sauce and veggies for the amount of sausage I had, especially since I couldn't fit that many veggies on the rolls. I think this would be better as a main dish served with pasta or rice, which can soak up the sauce. I had the leftovers a couple days later. The beer gave the leftover sauce and veggies an off-note, and I ended up throwing some of the dish away. I used an IPA, as the recipe didn't specify what type of beer to use. I think a milder pale ale or a lager would work better if you planning to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Made with sausage patties to go on a bun with ranch dressing and colby-jack cheese. Used Italian seasoning instead of cilantro. I love sausage, pepper and onion sandwiches, but I thought the beer made the peppers taste rather bitter. I think I'll skip the beer as per usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I love it. It's full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this for a school potluck. Because there were children, I substituted the beer for water and added more herbs. After the food line diminished, I thought I would get some. The dish was totally gone!!!! My daughter told me later that it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this a few nights ago, I used 1.5lb of sweet ita sausage, 1 1/2 cans of a light beer, 1 full can of tom paste, 1 red onion and 2 red peppers with 3 cloves garlic and the recommended spices. I tossed this over a full lb of pasta. I thought it had a great flavor and did not take long at all to prepare which is always key!! Not to "soupy" at all, in fact it worked quite well as a pasta sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good dish, only used 1 red pepper, followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used Sweet and Hot Italian sausage - the sauce needs a little something and I can't figure out what. The recipe was decent, but almost a little too tomato-y - and not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a dish with GREAT flavor! Served with white rice - next time might do pasta. Just perfect on the spice factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The whole family LOVED this recipe. I just swapped out dry Italian Seasoning Mix and Dry Basil for the oregano as I didn't have oregano and because we love cilantro, I actually increased it to 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was delicious...I made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States