Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Awesome and extremely easy!! My kids were amazed at how fast they were ready. I took the advice of another reviewer and added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla to it. My husband ate more of them than the children did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very easy to make just follow the recipe. I suggest when forming the balls to wear rubber gloves as it is very hot on the hands. I just sprayed the gloves as I went with bake ease. I also used strawberry marshmellos and they were very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I received a lot of compliments on these but they were hard to make because of the volume of popcorn. I did not have container large enough hold and stir the popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prairiecooker
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was my 1st attempt at making popcorn balls. Made them with my kids for my daughter's Halloween party. Thought it would be fun to stir in some Halloween candy to make them more festive, but the M&M's melted and turned the whole batch kindof 'muddy'-looking. To save the day... my daughter came up with a gross sounding name 'Black Cat Hairballs', we put them in plastic bags, made up some cute tags and tied the tags on with yarn. They ended up looking pretty cute and she was proud to hand them out to her classmates. One of the teachers even asked for the recipe. They were surprisingly easy to make and turned out soft & chewy. Would make again. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: South Bend, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I've been looking for this very recipe for years. Remembering as a small child the chewy, but smooth texture of them. They too can be very addictive, hard not having a second one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been making these for a few years now so I finally decided to add my two cents here in the reviews. I have never tried another recipe because they all sound so difficult with the candy thermometers and the crazy temperature requirements and whatnot. I use this recipe and simply reduce the amount of sugar because the suggested measurement makes them too sweet for my taste. I add about 1 3/4 cups of sugar. Then I add 2 teaspoons of vanilla, 2 teaspoons of sea salt and 2 teaspoons of vinegar because I like the sweet and sour combo. I made them to the recipe specifications and everyone thought they were too gooey and too sweet but my modified versions are a hit every time. Oh, and I use bags of pre-popped corn from Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This turned out great. I did add the vanilla 1 1/2 tsp which is perfect. Seems as though you have a little more time to work with making the balls before it gets hard vs the old way of doing it. I put them in baggies right after and they stayed nice and chewy, not hard to eat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent! Easy to make and extremely soft/chewy. My only change was that I added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla as recommended by other reviewers!! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe and thought it was very easy. I did make a couple of changes - I added 2t of vanilla and cut the powdered sugar to 2 cups. I mixed the popcorn and the sugar mixture in a dutch oven and let it sit covered for about 10 minutes before I tried shaping the mixture into balls. It didn't burn my hands and it still stuck together nicely. I did go back after shaping the balls and compressed each one a little more so they wouldn't fall apart. All in all, a very easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Pretty good, but not my favorite. I wanted to try this recipe since it's a little different than others I've tried, but I didn't like how the flavor of the confectioners' sugar came through. Thanks anyway, it was worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States