Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made these for my neice for Halloween. I added approximately 2 cups of Honey Roasted Peanuts and enough green food coloring to make them a dark lime-green color. They were awesome! Everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. I will definitely be making these again for other holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
So easy. I will be using this one again and again. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought these were ok, not much flavor even with vanilla and salt added. I should go through my Mom's old Betty Crocker cookbook. These pale in comparison to the ones my Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is the ideal popcorn ball recipe because it is so adaptable. I've made the recipe as-is, and everyone loves it. Vanilla for a bit of extra flavor is nice, but what really makes this recipe a keeper is how many ways you can add to it. For example, my daughter and I made popcorn balls for her Girl Scout troop. Since it's almost Halloween, we added food coloring to the sugar mixture to turn the popcorn balls orange. We also stirred roasted peanuts, candy corn, and M&Ms into the popcorn. By adding a pretzel stick "stem," we had yummy popcorn ball pumpkins! We've made them for Christmas using holiday M&Ms, too. The kids love them, and even the grown ups can't resist. I pop the popcorn in a plain brown bag in the microwave with no oil or salt. About 1 cup of kernels makes enough for these popcorn balls, a little less if you're adding other candies or snacks to the mix. Using rubber gloves sprayed with Pam makes shaping the balls simple, and they set up on wax paper at room temperature pretty quickly. Individually wrapped and tied with ribbon, they are great for gifts or bake sales. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These were super easy to make. I added a tsp of vanilla, as had been recommended somewhere else and they tasted great. The key to getting them to stick together is definitely the shortening on your hands; I tried cooking spray first and it didn't work. I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe for those of us who like soft popcorn balls. Similar to the kind with just marshmallows and butter, but does not get soggy like those. And it only took a few minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
these are very yummy, had trouble making them into balls so just put on a cookie sheet and everyone just pulled them apart, will def. be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These are so yummy! Fun, and easy to make...but messy! I packed them loosely and placed them in a muffin pan to dry. Using this method, I made about 32 popcorn balls. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I added the vanilla, as another reviewer suggested, I think it added a lot to the flavor. Has anyone ever tried adding salted peanuts to these? Seems like it would add a little salt to the sweet..kind of like Fiddle Faddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These were delicious. Thanks, also, for the hint of using rubber gloves. They made it a lot easier to form them into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States