Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Love this soft chewy recipe!!!! EASY!!! A quick way to make balls is to oil a cup(measuring cup works well) ans stuff coated popcorn in. A tap to the bottom of the cup onto waxed paper leaves beautiful balls! Yum!! I've made them a few times and love them but add 2 teaspoons of vanilla to flavour Remember to butter hands before playing in coated popcorn or it'll stick!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Very easy to make & yummy! I made them for my child's class. 3 microwaveable bags of popcorn was sufficent for 20 servings. After popping, I placed them in 2 large casserole dishes & set them in a warm oven while I cooked the topping. Then poured it over the popcorn & stirred until well coated. Latex gloves sprayed w/Pam helped while forming the balls! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
794 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Quick & easy! First time making popcorn balls, will definitly make again. I made them for my son's class~they loved them! A couple of tips that worked for me was using the gloves sprayed with Pam, break the popcorn into three or more batches(much easier to work with plus you won't have to work as quickly),forming the popcorn in the muffin tins (quick and gave them a place to set up), for the clean up I boiled water in the saucepan to melt the corn syrup mixture then poured that water into my mixing bowl to help clean up that bowl. I was able to make 36 popcon balls out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have never eaten nor less made popcorn balls, ever!! I know, I was pretty clueless, but I wanted to make some for a church function today. My husband informed me that he really liked them so I made an attempt. I must say these were awesome!! I read previous reviews and they were correct on adding the vanilla. I added 1 1/2 tsp., used 3 bags of lightly buttered popcorn in microwave. NOTE: Have popcorn already popped and kernels removed a colander works great. Being organized helped too. Using the insert for crock pot sprayed w/cooking spray and 1 1/2 bags of popcorn, used 1/2 of hot syrup mixing w/sprayed spatula and 1 measuring cup for shaping balls as well as spatula. I just sprayed one hand and rubbed hands to help further shape if needed. The syrup mixture was then reheated and process was repeated. It came out perfect, little bigger than baseball about 22 servings. Used zip sandwich bags to hold and give out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I was searching for a popcorn ball recipe that did not involve using a thermometer. I needed something quick and easy. Luckily, I found this one. I made two batches. The 2 batches made about 40 baseball sized balls. I'm sure they'll be a hit at the charity sale. It was so simple to make these. I would suggest making your popcorn before starting the sugar mixture. I went through my 3 bags(6 bags all together for the 2 batches)of popped natural microwave popcorn and got all of the unpopped pieces out before tossing it with the sugar mixture. A 13x9 baking pan and a dutch oven held 3 bags and there was room for tossing. I used a cooking sprayed coated spatula to mix and it worked great. We then rolled the balls using our hands. Be sure you spray your hands with cooking spray first. I then let the balls firm up and cool a bit before wrapping them in cling wrap and using a twist tie to close them. The scent and taste of them brought back memories of Halloween and the fall carnivals I went to as a child. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
So easy! I used marshmallow fluff instead of just marshmallows. This is the first time I made popcorn balls and it took me a little while to realize that you have to press REALLY hard on the balls to make them stick together. Thanks Kelli! I'll definitely make them as an autumn treat for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This is wonderful recipe! I made them in about 15 minutes. They taste good and they don't get as hard as a rock after 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Sweet and chewy. I liked these very much. They didn't get hard like most of the others do. I used microwave buttered popcorn. I used almost 6 bags. Buttery sweetness..mmmmm! My kids LOVED them. I'm gonna make them for our church bake sale and for my son's school party's. What kid doesn't like to get popcorn balls? Once again....mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALJP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I made these for my 3rd grade daughters class pinic. They were tasty. Kids may have a problem handling the hot mixture to form the balls. Givin a chance to cool she had fun helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
We made these for my daughter's 1st grade class. She helped wrap them in colored plastic wrap. The next day, they were fresh and soft - the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croswell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States