Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is my first attempt at making popcorn balls. I tried very hard to keep the uncooked kernels out but some did make it into the finished product. The worst thing was almost burning my fingers trying to form the balls. Not something to do with children! They did taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Made dozens of these for my daughter's Halloween celebration at school....not a single one left...and I didn't even get one for myself....back to the kitchen for another batch for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Extremely easy! I used air popped popcorn, about 2 run throughs with the 1/2 cup of kernels each. I sprayed our hands with the butter flavored Pam spray, and made about 1/2 cup balls instead of 1 cup. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Loved these! I made them with 4 bags of microwave popcorn which gave them a sweet/salty kettlecorn kind of taste ~ delish! :) I mixed up the popcorn and coating in two separate batches, keeping the coating just warm on the stove until I did the 2nd batch. Forming the balls is made very easy by wetting your hands just slightly with cold water. I let them to set up on parchment paper, then wrapped in plastic wrap. With the 4 bags of microwave popcorn, the recipe yielded 24 generous sized balls. Thank you tabkat for a new favorite treat recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by casey29341
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this for my boys football team as a Halloween snack so I added a touch of orange food coloring. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
So easy to make and they are pretty yummy! My son loves them. I added butter instead of margarine as well as a bit of salt to cut the sweet. A little orange food colouring and they are a halloween treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I am not a fan of popcorn balls, but I can say this- my kids loved them and the balls are not all dried and hard, they are more chewy and do not crumble all over the place when bit into. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After trying several recipes and raising quite a few blisterss, I tried this and loved it. I added wilton paste coloring and also tried a batch with liquid food coloring, and both worked well. I also put a gumdrop in the center of some and mixed candy in with others. Also added a tsp of vanilla after took it off the stove and added the color. Helped to let the formed balls dry out a little before packing in zip bags. Thanks for this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These are basically rice krispy treats with popcorn instead of rice krispies. If you like that, it's a fine recipe. I'll be looking around for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe in its simplicity.The only thing I would note is it is worth it to try to pick out the unpopped kernals before you make and add the syrup. It is not any fun to chop down on one of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max2062

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States