Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have made these at Christmas the past few years. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Mixture seemed thick. I would've preferred a thin coating. But I don't know how to mess with the recipe without taking a chance of messing it up. They were very tasty. My 3 year old was hesitant to try one, not every seeing one before. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Love this recipe. I made them and I added nuts (Planters deluxe lightly salted mixed nuts) and plain M & M's ( I added these right before I started to form into balls cause they will melt). They turned out really good, I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
They were too chewy for my taste but still really good. kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy and easy. Could use a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purpletheeskimo
Home Town: Randolph, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used 3 bags pop secret homestyle popcorn. Removed all old maids and put each bag in a separate bowl. I changed the powdered sugar to 1 3/4 cups and added 2 tsp. of vanilla for flavor. I separated the syrup mixture into 3 pans after it was done and kept one white and added green food coloring to the 2nd pan and red food coloring to the third pan. You have to move quick so it doesn't cool. That way I had red, green and white popcorn balls for Christmas! They turned out really good and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just did a batch of these. Fantastic! A couple things... 1 cup plain white sugar works if you are out of powdered. More than 1 cup is too sweet in my opinion. Our local Aldi is getting rid of halloween stuff, so I grabbed a few 10oz bags of Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows for .15 ea. 10 drops of red food coloring makes a deep candy red color that works great for the holidays. I will also do green. I also added a few dashes salt and a little bit of vanilla extract. I also picked up Almond and Peppermint, so I'm sure those will work good also. If you go too much on the Corn Syrup, the balls will be too gloppy at the bottom. Too little, and it won't bind when you ball them. I also found five minutes for cooling was not enough, as they started to fall apart once balled. 8 to 10 minutes leaves plenty of time for them to still warm enough for balling, and they form much nicer. I found that I could tear off a small sheet of cellophane, and drape it over the top of the ball, scoop it up, and wrap it all at once. I didn't see any point in using a cup, or trying to place sheets down first. Wetting hands in small bowl of warm water for each ball, let you pack it like a snowball firmly, each time. It didn't seem to dilute or wear off any of the coating. I may try the oil or shortening method just to be sure. This recipe is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The only thing I added was a little vanilla! They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Soft and chewy....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnK'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States