Best Ever Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Lots of people in the South eat pinto beans as a meal, but I had only eaten white beans this way. I chose to follow this recipe as a guideline rather than following it exactly. I decided to make this late in the day, so I did the quick soak method where I brought the beans and water to a boil and let them sit covered for an hour. I then poured off the water and used 2 cans of chicken broth and 4 cups of water. I omitted the ham hock because it makes food greasier than what I prefer. I did have to add more water as the beans cooked. When the beans were just tender, I added chopped onion, ham pieces, the brown sugar, and tomato sauce. I could not find a 6.5 oz. can of tomato sauce, so I used all of the 8 oz. can I bought. I cooked it all for another hour as the recipe states. I ate this for dinner accompanied with cornbread and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Easy and Tasty! Soaked the beans overnight. No ham hock, but had a 8oz package of Salt Pork. Cubed then browned the salt pork in a pan, then added the pork and fat to the pot. I like my beans peppery, so I added a Tablespoon of black pepper. Served with some fresh skillet cornbread....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. So very easy and the taste is outstanding. My new "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was my first time making pinto beans, and these came out great. I added ground meat because that is how my mother used to make them, but I followed the recipe for everything else. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Good . Easy. Next time I will try a vegetable broth instead of just water,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this today , it came out great ! This is by far the most inexpensive recipe I know of . AND NOT nuked like so much food is today . And best of all VERY BASIC !!!!! I will make these anytime as a main dish OR a side dish ! FANTASTIC !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love into beans and these were very good, I used smoked jowl for the meat and it worked well. For me there was not enough salt in the recipe that was an easy fix.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Omitted the ham hock and added some chopped onion, garlic, and bay leaves. Very homey and satisfying. Also used to make nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Mine came out too watery. Not sure why. I cooked mine in a crockpot. I'm from OK and remember my mother cooking this. She would use salt pork only. I put raw onions in it and love the taste and crunch. My husband put ketchup in his. I like beans and cornbread. My mother would also sometimes pour the beans on top of the cornbread. That was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OshenGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it several times. I soak the beans overnight and I also use the drippings off the ham (skim off fat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States