Best Ever Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Lots of people in the South eat pinto beans as a meal, but I had only eaten white beans this way. I chose to follow this recipe as a guideline rather than following it exactly. I decided to make this late in the day, so I did the quick soak method where I brought the beans and water to a boil and let them sit covered for an hour. I then poured off the water and used 2 cans of chicken broth and 4 cups of water. I omitted the ham hock because it makes food greasier than what I prefer. I did have to add more water as the beans cooked. When the beans were just tender, I added chopped onion, ham pieces, the brown sugar, and tomato sauce. I could not find a 6.5 oz. can of tomato sauce, so I used all of the 8 oz. can I bought. I cooked it all for another hour as the recipe states. I ate this for dinner accompanied with cornbread and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Easy and Tasty! Soaked the beans overnight. No ham hock, but had a 8oz package of Salt Pork. Cubed then browned the salt pork in a pan, then added the pork and fat to the pot. I like my beans peppery, so I added a Tablespoon of black pepper. Served with some fresh skillet cornbread....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. So very easy and the taste is outstanding. My new "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Good . Easy. Next time I will try a vegetable broth instead of just water,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love into beans and these were very good, I used smoked jowl for the meat and it worked well. For me there was not enough salt in the recipe that was an easy fix.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was my first time making pinto beans, and these came out great. I added ground meat because that is how my mother used to make them, but I followed the recipe for everything else. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this today , it came out great ! This is by far the most inexpensive recipe I know of . AND NOT nuked like so much food is today . And best of all VERY BASIC !!!!! I will make these anytime as a main dish OR a side dish ! FANTASTIC !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
First off THANKS for the recipe, really enjoyed the beans. I'm a bean and pea lover and will try all types. But, i require modifications in seasoning, reduced sodium. Only change made was not adding salt the ham was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I had red kidney beans on hand with a smoked ham hock. I followed recipe but used tomato paste with some diced tomatoes for texture. I used double brown sugar for my 3yo and 2 tablespoons worcester sauce. We all loved it and will make it again with pinto beans and no changes just to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by medic stu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
First beans I made but can't imagine making anything better. Used a package of smoked ham hock but the extra meat was a good addition. Also accidentally used tomato paste instead of sauce but that just made it so thick we had to eat it with a fork. This is great paired with "grandma's cornbread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States