Best Ever Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OshenGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it several times. I soak the beans overnight and I also use the drippings off the ham (skim off fat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Mine came out too watery. Not sure why. I cooked mine in a crockpot. I'm from OK and remember my mother cooking this. She would use salt pork only. I put raw onions in it and love the taste and crunch. My husband put ketchup in his. I like beans and cornbread. My mother would also sometimes pour the beans on top of the cornbread. That was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Omitted the ham hock and added some chopped onion, garlic, and bay leaves. Very homey and satisfying. Also used to make nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by medic stu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
First beans I made but can't imagine making anything better. Used a package of smoked ham hock but the extra meat was a good addition. Also accidentally used tomato paste instead of sauce but that just made it so thick we had to eat it with a fork. This is great paired with "grandma's cornbread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I had red kidney beans on hand with a smoked ham hock. I followed recipe but used tomato paste with some diced tomatoes for texture. I used double brown sugar for my 3yo and 2 tablespoons worcester sauce. We all loved it and will make it again with pinto beans and no changes just to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
First off THANKS for the recipe, really enjoyed the beans. I'm a bean and pea lover and will try all types. But, i require modifications in seasoning, reduced sodium. Only change made was not adding salt the ham was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this today , it came out great ! This is by far the most inexpensive recipe I know of . AND NOT nuked like so much food is today . And best of all VERY BASIC !!!!! I will make these anytime as a main dish OR a side dish ! FANTASTIC !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was my first time making pinto beans, and these came out great. I added ground meat because that is how my mother used to make them, but I followed the recipe for everything else. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love into beans and these were very good, I used smoked jowl for the meat and it worked well. For me there was not enough salt in the recipe that was an easy fix.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Good . Easy. Next time I will try a vegetable broth instead of just water,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States