Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is the easiest and best pie crust I've ever made. I follow the recipe exactly unless I'm rushed. for fruit pies I add a few tablespoons of sugar. turns out beautiful every time. fattening yes, most pie crusts are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very flaky. I thought it was easy to work with, it wasn't 'greasy' at all. My shell shrunk after I baked it, but I think because the crust is so fluffy and flaky, the holes I had pricked with a fork before baking closed back up for the most part. I have bookmarked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I just don't know how to feel about this crust. Been trying for weeks to find the right pie crust for Grandma Ople's apple pie, which is outrageously good. I've mastered the pie filling, making my own apple sauce to stir into the caramel. I've mastered the lattice construction, no small feat for one as coordination-challenged as myself. Not happy with the various crusts I've tried. Like others stated, this one is flaky and light. Just not sure about the taste and borders on greasy, and I took suggestions and used half butter and half shortening. It still tastes of full shortening. No one in the family complained, but I knew what I was looking for and didn't quite get at. I will keep it, as it did accomplish the flakiness I couldn't get with the others I've tried. I'll try it with full butter next time or keep reading reviews for tips to perfect. Better than average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookWrite40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
came out perfectly! Difficult to find shortening where I am so I used butter, but it came out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've tried many pie crust recipes, and this is the one I will use over any others. It's very simple and easily modified while remaining deliciously flaky. Depending on the pie I'm making, I'll add garlic powder or grated orange peel or vanilla extract in with the water. It's wonderful, and I'm extremely loyal to this recipe. The only constant substitution I make is that I always use unsalted butter instead of shortening. A pastry cutter for pie crust really makes all the difference. A mixer doesn't get the job done correctly. You also have to make sure that you don't go too crazy with blending pie crust, and allow time in the fridge for the flour to settle down. I have also made this crust and left it in the fridge for several days before using it - it was still great to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I read, as I always do a lot of the reviews, good and bad. Decided that the good won out and tried this recipe. I did double the recipe as I was making a double pie crust pie. I made it in a food processor, and did 50/50 shortening and butter. I literally had to pick the butter out, way too much fat, kept rereading the recipe to see if I had read the ingredient list wrong. After removing the butter I did actually complete the pastry and it came out ok. But have no idea how to recreate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leinad Silloh
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
After listening to the pros and cons of this recipe I followed it exactly. No cold water or chilling utensils or shortening. It came out perfect. The only problem I have is that I like to do lattice top and this was not stiff enough to cut the strips for lattice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leinad Silloh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. Make as directed and refrigerate overnight. Five stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried to make a pie crust my very first time and it was SOOOO GOOD! I was afraid that it wasn't going to turn out "5 stars", but it did. It was flaky, it was crunchy like everyone else said. I am very pleased with this recipe. ( You don't even need blender)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I use this crust ALL the time and I am always complimented on it. My friends and family know me as the resident pie-maker. I follow the recipe exactly, except recently I tried substituting half the shortening for butter with good results. I make sure to use cold water and "play" with the dough as little as possible. Sometimes I will add a dash of nutmeg or allspice when I add the flour to the bowl. As for rolling out, I am very generous flouring my surface, and flour the dough every time I flip it over between rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States