Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I read, as I always do a lot of the reviews, good and bad. Decided that the good won out and tried this recipe. I did double the recipe as I was making a double pie crust pie. I made it in a food processor, and did 50/50 shortening and butter. I literally had to pick the butter out, way too much fat, kept rereading the recipe to see if I had read the ingredient list wrong. After removing the butter I did actually complete the pastry and it came out ok. But have no idea how to recreate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leinad Silloh
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
After listening to the pros and cons of this recipe I followed it exactly. No cold water or chilling utensils or shortening. It came out perfect. The only problem I have is that I like to do lattice top and this was not stiff enough to cut the strips for lattice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leinad Silloh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. Make as directed and refrigerate overnight. Five stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried to make a pie crust my very first time and it was SOOOO GOOD! I was afraid that it wasn't going to turn out "5 stars", but it did. It was flaky, it was crunchy like everyone else said. I am very pleased with this recipe. ( You don't even need blender)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I use this crust ALL the time and I am always complimented on it. My friends and family know me as the resident pie-maker. I follow the recipe exactly, except recently I tried substituting half the shortening for butter with good results. I make sure to use cold water and "play" with the dough as little as possible. Sometimes I will add a dash of nutmeg or allspice when I add the flour to the bowl. As for rolling out, I am very generous flouring my surface, and flour the dough every time I flip it over between rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
A great crust. Be sure to chill the shortening and water in advance and roll the dough out between wax paper or plastic wrap. Increase the recipe by 25% to get two full crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
The dough worked up well at first, but once I baked it the crust was tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My son (4) wanted to do a shortening crust, so I pulled this recipe. I usually do Butter Flaky from this site with great results, and I thought, "Rave reviews? How hard can this be? Why not!" I thought it looked like the gal in the video was having a hard time, and as it turned out, I did too--it tore, I could barely get it to the pie pan, I had to press it into place, the top was a mess. It tasted okay, but barely held the pie together because it was so crumbly. Note that most of the rave reviewers subbed BUTTER!! This is not a keeper. I'll be looking for a new shortening crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wow! It had been a while since I made a crust and my husband said tonight that it was almost better than the peach filling, :-) I haven't read all the reviews, but if there is any there that are not raving about this, they did something wrong. Beautifully golden and the bottom crust was as crispy as the top. Awesome flaky texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States