Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I read the 5-star reviews and was very optimistic about this recipe... I really should've checked out some of the critical reviews, too. This crust was very hard to work with. I ended up rolling it on cling wrap to get it to transfer to my pie pan. It ended up tasteless and extremely crumbly, although visually very flaky. So disappointed that I ruined my pie with this crust :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo DeBell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I cut this in half for 1 pie. The less you mix it, the flakier the crust. Mix it with a fork just until it's all moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Followed this recipe exactly, it was awesome. Very crispy and flaky'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovin it

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I followed this recipe to a T - it's very good - good for a savoury (bacon and egg) pie, as well as a sweet one (Treacle Tart). I doubled the recipe and froze the shells. Used two this morning and they're great. My husband even commented on how good the pastry was. I'll be using this recipe again. Thanks Jean Haseloh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Easy and yummy perfect and simple!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Definitely a bit hard to work with, hence the 4 stars, but I found it worth it in the end. I'm not known for good crusts, so when this came out really good.... Well you can imagine my pleasure... Note: If you use salted butter or whatever, don't add the salt, or cut way back.... way... lol. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My family & I love this crust!! I made a couple revisions. I only used 1/2 cup of butter & added 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice & sugar to make it sweeter! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Gross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was great! I did half/half butter and shortening, froze them both and then grated it, so much easier to combine, easy to handle and turned out very nice and flaky! Will be my new go-to piecrust for both sweet and savioury pies. Left out the salt, since I used salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Kolosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is by far the best pie crust recipe I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
There was way too much shortening and it was impossible to work with. It just fell apart and there was no way to get it into a pie tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States