Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I didn't have shortening so I used butter. It was my first Apple Pie and the crust was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I love this crust! It's easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been making my own pie crusts for several years. I can pretty much do it myself, but I like to pull up a recipe to keep myself organized. I want to urge anybody who is making a pie crust to rethink this recipe. There is FAR too much shortening, which makes the resulting dough too greasy and difficult to work with. I recommend finding a recipe that calls for the appropriate one-third shortening to flour ratio instead. I have been an all-recipes member for years, and this is my first one star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a great, simple recipe. It turns out well every time and I bake alot. I've found that it works well for me if I mix in the water using my fingers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was a gooey, gloppy...mess. I thought it sounded like a lot of water but I was in a hurry and followed the recipe exactly. Then had to add about 50% more flour to make it workable. It has the consistency of dumplings, not pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much shortening and salt. Even my regular pie crust doesn't have that much water in it. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needlewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Loving the food processor idea, thanks! never touched my pastry cutter & less mess! I cut the recipe in half for use in bottom of a crisp, and used butter not shortening, and my mom's addage: add water 1 tablespoon at a time, you won't need it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very handy recipe. I'll have to add more water in next time I use it -- the dough ball was a bit rough and therefore harder to flatten and roll out with my pin. But it still made a very nice crust for my pie filling! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I always want to search for a cooking site where I can find an easy and the world's best recipes, but I discover more than what I'm looking for when I found out this parcel site, http://www.gourmetrecipe.com, I really appreciate this site for it has a lot to offer more than recipes but also is an informative site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
chilled everything as instructed. mushy, unworkable dough. Too much shortening...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States