Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was amazing, so flaky, yummy and it made enough to have extra dough for turnovers. I only made one small substitution, used butter instead of shortening and ice cold water. don't miss this it's really good...I would also reduce the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this last minute because I had extra pie filling. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have the time to let the dough refrigerate overnight. I chilled mine for about 30 minutes and it came out perfect! It probably would've been even better if I chilled it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I use lard instead of shortening and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried all sorts of crust recipes and this one by far takes the cake. The dough would roll out but all it did was bust up. I ended up just pressing it into the bottom of the pan. I was so disappointed especially after all the rave reviews. It was for a cherry pie using my dad's first picking of cherries off his cherry tree. :( I went ahead and used it because I didn't have time to make another recipe since I had already waited on this one to chill etc and have to work tomorrow. All I can say is it better taste better than it rolls. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good crust for a shortening based crust. Not sure how it could go so wrong for other people who have tried it. I had to add a tad more water for it to come together. My pie recipe called for 10 minutes at 425 and 40-50 minutes at 375. Was very flaky and deeee-llish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and I have to agree with naples34102, the dough in the original recipe comes out with too much fat in it. So I had to add a substantial amount of flour to make it work, which in turn is a different recipe, so in conclusion - this recipe does not work as stated and as such I have to give it a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this recipe with my Junior Girl Scouts at camp. They made the most delicious apple pie in a jar. This crust was easy for these very beginner cooks to make. Following basic pie dough directions of adding water a little at a time and not overworking the dough this crust came out flaky and tasty. These ten year olds achieved what many cooks have difficulty with, making the perfect pie crust. I also used it with my cooking club with women that have never made a pie. They got the same excellent results. This recipe is a keeper and certainly going into the Troop cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have made dozens of pies and pie crusts over the years and I have NEVER had the problems that I experienced working with this dough. I followed directions exactly and what I experienced was the most fragile dough I have ever worked with tearing and breaking apart as I was trying to lay the bottom crust in the pan. When it came to the lattice top.....Argh!!!! It is presently baking so I can't comment on the taste however I have already vowed to myself to never try this recipe again. I will revert back to the standard directions found on the packaging of the Crisco shortening. I have never had problems with that and it has always turned out flaky, delicious, and MUCH easier to work with. Additionally you can roll it out immediately as you don't have to refrigerate it for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States