Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good crust for a shortening based crust. Not sure how it could go so wrong for other people who have tried it. I had to add a tad more water for it to come together. My pie recipe called for 10 minutes at 425 and 40-50 minutes at 375. Was very flaky and deeee-llish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and I have to agree with naples34102, the dough in the original recipe comes out with too much fat in it. So I had to add a substantial amount of flour to make it work, which in turn is a different recipe, so in conclusion - this recipe does not work as stated and as such I have to give it a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this recipe with my Junior Girl Scouts at camp. They made the most delicious apple pie in a jar. This crust was easy for these very beginner cooks to make. Following basic pie dough directions of adding water a little at a time and not overworking the dough this crust came out flaky and tasty. These ten year olds achieved what many cooks have difficulty with, making the perfect pie crust. I also used it with my cooking club with women that have never made a pie. They got the same excellent results. This recipe is a keeper and certainly going into the Troop cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have made dozens of pies and pie crusts over the years and I have NEVER had the problems that I experienced working with this dough. I followed directions exactly and what I experienced was the most fragile dough I have ever worked with tearing and breaking apart as I was trying to lay the bottom crust in the pan. When it came to the lattice top.....Argh!!!! It is presently baking so I can't comment on the taste however I have already vowed to myself to never try this recipe again. I will revert back to the standard directions found on the packaging of the Crisco shortening. I have never had problems with that and it has always turned out flaky, delicious, and MUCH easier to work with. Additionally you can roll it out immediately as you don't have to refrigerate it for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The easiest pie crust I have ever made. Rolled out beautifully. My new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I thought this was the best crust I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is my families FAVORITE crust and it freezes wonderfully, used it for a coconut cream pie at Christmas, froze the other half and just used it to make mini chocolate/coconut ganash pies, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Absolutely easy and great. I have always steered clear of making my crusts. Saw this simple one and thought I'll give it a try. I've made more than 10 of these and they never disappoint. I do use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States