Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this recipe with my Junior Girl Scouts at camp. They made the most delicious apple pie in a jar. This crust was easy for these very beginner cooks to make. Following basic pie dough directions of adding water a little at a time and not overworking the dough this crust came out flaky and tasty. These ten year olds achieved what many cooks have difficulty with, making the perfect pie crust. I also used it with my cooking club with women that have never made a pie. They got the same excellent results. This recipe is a keeper and certainly going into the Troop cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have made dozens of pies and pie crusts over the years and I have NEVER had the problems that I experienced working with this dough. I followed directions exactly and what I experienced was the most fragile dough I have ever worked with tearing and breaking apart as I was trying to lay the bottom crust in the pan. When it came to the lattice top.....Argh!!!! It is presently baking so I can't comment on the taste however I have already vowed to myself to never try this recipe again. I will revert back to the standard directions found on the packaging of the Crisco shortening. I have never had problems with that and it has always turned out flaky, delicious, and MUCH easier to work with. Additionally you can roll it out immediately as you don't have to refrigerate it for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The easiest pie crust I have ever made. Rolled out beautifully. My new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I thought this was the best crust I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is my families FAVORITE crust and it freezes wonderfully, used it for a coconut cream pie at Christmas, froze the other half and just used it to make mini chocolate/coconut ganash pies, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Absolutely easy and great. I have always steered clear of making my crusts. Saw this simple one and thought I'll give it a try. I've made more than 10 of these and they never disappoint. I do use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I agree with the other 1 star reviewer-- this dough recipe was too shortening dense! I could not roll it out without cracks and splits. It fell apart when I tried to put it in the pie tin, and it felt greasy. I tasted a smidge of the raw dough-- yuck- grease, grease, grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This plus the apple pie recipe I found on the website was magnificent! My husband said it was the best pie I had ever made! Then he asked if I saved the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebekahcade

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have made this several times. I add tiny cubes of butter at the very end. I've had so many compliments on this crust. People that throw their crust away, eat my crust. They say it's the best crust they've ever had! I must agree, it's fantastic!!! This crust reminds me of what my Mom use to make! Since she passed before I got the recipe, I know she'd love this crust as I do! She'd be very proud of how good this is! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States