Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a very good pie crust. I don't need to look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was my mistake using Pastry Flour? I was only able to use 2 tablespoons of water, and that was too much! It is now in the fridge, but my hopes are not high. Must have been the pastry flour or too much shortening. It was a ball even before putting in the 2 T of water. Followed the recipe exactly and used chilled ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubyblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really like this one it's quick and easy and always come's out great I don't refrigerate mine I just make sure the ingred. are as cold as can be before mixing all together the ""secrect"" is don't over work the dough only do what you have to and it turns out every time..Thanks for sharing will pass this one on to my kid's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
have gotten rave reviews everytime I make this crust. sometimes I add a teaspoon of sugar (if a fruit pie)and have added herbs for savory pies. also have done half shortening/half lard for that old fashioned taste (my husband's favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is fairly accurate to my family's tried and true, pie crust. If you work the crisco into the flour with a fork until it looks like peas, before adding the water a spoonful at a time, it shouldn't be too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just made this crust and it fell on the floor letting me see that the bottom of the "crust" was not a crust at all. More like a crumb crust rather than a flaky shell. Luckily, I've made a second pie with my own crust recipe and hopefully, the crust will stand up. This was WAY too much Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awful. Too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I used this pie crust recipe the last few times I made apple pie, it turns out great everytime! Very flaky. I will definitely use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
What a mess! This was a disaster of a pie crust from the start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am using this recipe with a lot of success for my apple pies, for pumpkin pies, even strudels and turn overs...it's fantastic, easy to work with, final product is awesomely flaky. I love simplicity and awesomeness of the final product. Just one important note... the best it's the same day. But because it's so easy to get it ready, it's not a problem to bake a fresh pie the same day you plan to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States