Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried to make a pie crust my very first time and it was SOOOO GOOD! I was afraid that it wasn't going to turn out "5 stars", but it did. It was flaky, it was crunchy like everyone else said. I am very pleased with this recipe. ( You don't even need blender)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I use this crust ALL the time and I am always complimented on it. My friends and family know me as the resident pie-maker. I follow the recipe exactly, except recently I tried substituting half the shortening for butter with good results. I make sure to use cold water and "play" with the dough as little as possible. Sometimes I will add a dash of nutmeg or allspice when I add the flour to the bowl. As for rolling out, I am very generous flouring my surface, and flour the dough every time I flip it over between rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
A great crust. Be sure to chill the shortening and water in advance and roll the dough out between wax paper or plastic wrap. Increase the recipe by 25% to get two full crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
The dough worked up well at first, but once I baked it the crust was tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My son (4) wanted to do a shortening crust, so I pulled this recipe. I usually do Butter Flaky from this site with great results, and I thought, "Rave reviews? How hard can this be? Why not!" I thought it looked like the gal in the video was having a hard time, and as it turned out, I did too--it tore, I could barely get it to the pie pan, I had to press it into place, the top was a mess. It tasted okay, but barely held the pie together because it was so crumbly. Note that most of the rave reviewers subbed BUTTER!! This is not a keeper. I'll be looking for a new shortening crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wow! It had been a while since I made a crust and my husband said tonight that it was almost better than the peach filling, :-) I haven't read all the reviews, but if there is any there that are not raving about this, they did something wrong. Beautifully golden and the bottom crust was as crispy as the top. Awesome flaky texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This crust is great! I did half butter, half shortening and cold water. For a little flavor I added a few drops of almond extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This one is amazingly flaky and tender. What you have to know is that good pastries and pie crusts require some practice and experience, there is no foolproof recipe for a beginner if you don't know what you are looking for texture-wise. Improper measuring of the flour can ruin any pie crust, as can dousing with the recommended amount of water instead of using a bit at a time until the dough balls together. Practice, practice! I found that I needed a touch more flour in my crumb than called for (as I spooned right from the bag) and I eyeballed the water. I discovered I was a bit low on shortening and subbed fresh salted butter for about a 1/3 of the cup required. I used seasalt instead of table salt. This created more than enough dough for me to do a full thick top and bottom crust for my blackberry pie without a drop of seepage. I did not wait and refrigerate it which made it a bit soft and floppy but the slightly sticky dough seamed perfectly when pinched together which I have never had great luck with before. It rolled easily into a round without tearing and browned lightly. The verdict? The most buttery, flaky crust I have ever tasted. My husband and kids, who usually do not eat the edge of the crust devoured every bite and my husband raved that it was the best crust he'd ever tasted. The flavor was right- on, not too salty nor sweet. I would use this for a savory pie as well. This one will be my go-to crust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Flaky, holds it's shape, tastes very good---yes, Best Ever Pie Crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States