Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wow! It had been a while since I made a crust and my husband said tonight that it was almost better than the peach filling, :-) I haven't read all the reviews, but if there is any there that are not raving about this, they did something wrong. Beautifully golden and the bottom crust was as crispy as the top. Awesome flaky texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This crust is great! I did half butter, half shortening and cold water. For a little flavor I added a few drops of almond extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Ignore the negative reviews, this one is amazingly flaky and tender. What you have to know is that good pastries and pie crusts require some practice and experience, there is no foolproof recipe for a beginner if you don't know what you are looking for texture-wise. Improper measuring of the flour can ruin any pie crust, as can dousing with the recommended amount of water instead of using a bit at a time until the dough balls together. Practice, practice! I found that I needed a touch more flour in my crumb than called for (as I spooned right from the bag) and I eyeballed the water. I discovered I was a bit low on shortening and subbed fresh salted butter for about a 1/3 of the cup required. I used seasalt instead of table salt. This created more than enough dough for me to do a full thick top and bottom crust for my blackberry pie without a drop of seepage. I did not wait and refrigerate it which made it a bit soft and floppy but the slightly sticky dough seamed perfectly when pinched together which I have never had great luck with before. It rolled easily into a round without tearing and browned lightly. The verdict? The most buttery, flaky crust I have ever tasted. My husband and kids, who usually do not eat the edge of the crust devoured every bite and my husband raved that it was the best crust he'd ever tasted. The flavor was right- on, not too salty nor sweet. I would use this for a savory pie as well. This one will be my go-to crust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Flaky, holds it's shape, tastes very good---yes, Best Ever Pie Crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Just finished making this recipe twice. I was baking 2 pies and some reviews were not so favorable so I decided to try one recipe first. I usually buy the frozen versions but now I'm retired and felt I really should have time to make my own crust. This recipe is perfect. I changed it by using 1/2 cup Crisco and 1/2 cup butter. Followed the hints and chilled everything first. I mixed as little as possible and only refrigerated one hour. It rolled out perfectly and the amount is exactly right for a 2-crust pie. Will definitely use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L Olson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as listed but doubled it for a Turkey pot pie, it was beyond excellent my husband and kids loved it-they are very picky eaters and my youngest will normally not ever eat the crust of any type of pastry crust. To make it a more savory crust I did add 2 tsp of oregano and 1tsp of garlic powder while blending all the ingredients together. I also used butter flavor Crisco instead of plain and mixed everything together on low speed w/the flat beater wand in my kitchen aid mixer (about 1-2 mins). I did flour my surface when rolling out the dough and it turned out perfect-definitely one of the easiest recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I'm eating blueberry turnovers I made from using this recipe as the crust. I rolled it out thin and it started to break apart (the cause was not enough flour on the table and top of the dough). Since I'm not a professional pie baker, I don't know how to handle soft doughs so I used a wide pancake flipper to shove extra flour under the dough and move the finished products to the sheet pans. The turnovers are GREAT and have a slight cinnamon taste every few bites and reminds me of my aunt's pie crusts. Maybe next time I may add cinnamon and sugar to the mix to get a slightly better tasting dough for the application. This recipe gets five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
best ever crust so flaky...Does not need any alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today and followed it exactly as written, except that I only rested the dough for about 30 minutes in the fridge. Leaving it the full time will only make easier to roll, although I had no problem rolling it after only 30 minutes. One negative reviewer believed that there is too much shortening, but I don't agree. It's pretty standard in crust recipes and it wasn't hard to handle at all. I would suggest if you are a novice pie maker you need to use some tips to help you, such as chilling the fat first (I didn't do thatbut it never hurts) but I do typically place the cut-in flour/fat mixture in the fridge for 30 minutes or so BEFORE adding the water, while I work on the filling. I always put ice cubes in the water and chill it very cold, and then sprinkle it on a bit at the time, because it will not always take as much as the recipe calls for and it may take more a little more sometimes. I never touch the dough until it can pretty much be formed into a ball with your spoon or spatula you mixed it with. The less you touch it the more tender it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States