Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Since most of the reviews for this pie crust are so positive you will be tempted, as I was, to use this recipe. Before you do, however, I urge you to pay careful attention to not only the one or two star reviews, but also to any reviews that indicate they made changes, or who comment that there was too much shortening in the recipe. They are all right on! My experience was the same...too much fat makes a dough that is too greasy, fragile and difficult to work with. I can't even comment on how it baked as I didn't get that far. I was so disappointed in the dough itself that I just pitched it and made it again using my old recipe. I didn't trust the dough enough to gamble with what the finished product would be. If you make the necessary changes to make this pie crust work then you really aren't using this recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1687 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe because the measurements are very accurate. I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening instead of all shortening and mixed them together and put it in the fridge. I also put my food processor bowl in the fridge. After they were good and chilled, I put the flour in the food processor and added the shortening and pulsed it till it looked coarse and then I added ice cold water to it a little at a time as I pulsed it until it formed a ball. It came out EXCELLENT in taste and texture! My hubby is a pastry chef and gave it thumbs up! Oh and I put a little less salt in it because my butter had salt. If you use the unsalted butter put the full tsp of salt in it as the recipe indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
884 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
EASY WAY: To roll this out easily and perfectly center the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap, then roll it out. When you are finished rolling it out take off the top piece of plastic wrap, put a pie pan upside down over the dough, then turn the whole thing (pie pan, dough, bottom plastic wrap) upside down. Lastly, press the dough into place in the pie pan and remove the second piece of plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I have baked more than 20 pies over the past year, and consistently get rave reviews about the crust. Of course, I use this recipe, but I add an extra trick. Chill EVERYTHING before beginning. I put the bowl and pastry cutter in the refrigerator, and I keep 1 ice cube in the water to keep it cold. It keeps the shortening from blending too much with the flour, leaving you with little pockets of shortening that result in extra flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I am a seasoned pie crust maker, our usual crust recipe is 3/2/1 Flour/crisco/cold water in that order. It has worked out pretty good for me, but I always have to work in so much flour. Many of my friends have tried that recipe, and think it is ruined, and toss it. They are daunted by the gooey appearance of the dough. This recipe changes the ratio just a little bit, and the crust is perfect. I skip the chilling, I just let it rest on the counter for 30 min. before I use it. I never plan well enough in advance to put things in the fridge. I avoid recpes that tell me to do that, usually. It is now my favorite crust recipe. I am entering a pie in a contest next weekend, I think it will win. Thanks for the great crust recipe. (the pie did not win the contest, but the crust got rave reviews, and I was asked for it many times.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very good pie crust. I didn't have the 4 hours to let the dough chill, so I added an egg and made the the water ice water and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I just love this crust and so does everyone else who has tried it! I have used it for pies and chicken pot pie. It's easy to roll out. I have to add a little extra flour usually just to get it smooth, but it bakes up perfect and flaky. Also, if you need the crust NOW, just stick it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. Works just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I have tried different kinds of pie crusts in my life, looking for the very best one. I was sceptical about this one, because it sounded wayyy too simple, and I had tried one that used the exact same ingredients before,but different ratios, and didn't turn out so good. So I thought, I'd try it and see if it would make a difference. And did it make a difference! I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It came out so flaky and fluffy and delicious! Even my mom (who can be pretty critical sometimes), said that it was the perfect crust! I was shocked! It really is the best ever pie crust! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This is the perfect pie crust.Over the years I have tried other recipes that cut down on the shortening but haven't been this light and flaky. Also, the less you handle it the flakier it is. I used about 5 Tbsp. of water and that was enough--but make sure it is ice cold. Sometimes the best recipes are so basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Can a recipe increase your self esteem??? When it earns you the rave reveiws this pie crust will, it certainly does! I have never even attempted to make homemade crust, after hearing all sorts of horror stories, and knowing I am NOT the best baker in the world. I doubled this crust for a chicken pot pie, and was surprised that the recipe yeilded plenty enough pastry to line AND top a 13x9" pyrex pan. I used butter flavored shortening and added parmesan cheese, granulated garlic powder, ground black pepper and a TOUCH of seasoning salt. I folded in parsley flakes for color. Otherwise, I followed all ingredients to the letter. This crust was even flakier than premium frozen brands, even though I had to roll it out on more flour and probably handled it over-much. I also layered it between Saran wrap, as another reveiwer suggested, to roll out the crust evenly. I am not sure why the dough was sticky, but it probably was 100% my fault for not allowing enough chilling time. Despite my truely clumsy efforts this was a sturdy, flaky, and beautiful crust! Next time I am going to experiment with cookie cutters, to create 3-D shapes on the top crust. Hint: This is NOT a sweet crust, so keep that in mind when you are not preparing savory pies...and proper chilling is a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States