Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used COLD butter flavored Crisco and added 1 teaspoon sugar. I only had need for 2 teaspoons of ICE WATER. I'm stressing COLD and ICE because I think it's important to note that working with cold ingredients gives the best results! Also, I only refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and it turned our perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
After a careful reading of the reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. I ended up using about 2/3 of the egg/liquid mixture (hence 4 stars) and put it in my freezer for an hour rather than the overnight chilling. I always roll out my crusts between to layers of plastic wrap - in this case it appears to have been more necessary than others. The result was a beautiful crust, tender and flaky, though I expect I'll not use this recipe as often as others as I'm concerned about the amount of fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a really good and easy to make crust. I need to double it for a 9" pie with a top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sullivan
Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have not found a better dough recipe! Every time I use this to make pie, it's raved about. Also used this to make biscuits for bbq cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Oxley-Kissinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Have been using this recipe for a few years now..LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Seasoned with steak spice and sun dried tomatos I wrapped BBQ'd sausages with this dough and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is an excellent pie crust .didnt keep it overnight though it turns out jst fine.cut down on the water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have been making some good pies for years now. I usually used the crust recipe from my 1976 Better Homes New Cook Book. The last couple pies I made I used this recipe and the difference in taste was incredible. I will not use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Really easy pie recipe, I am wheat and dairy free, so I used the same amounts of everything using spelt flour instead of wheat, and about 1/2 and 1/2 coconut oil and butter substitute instead of shortening. It was easy and it turned out wonderfully! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States