Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used COLD butter flavored Crisco and added 1 teaspoon sugar. I only had need for 2 teaspoons of ICE WATER. I'm stressing COLD and ICE because I think it's important to note that working with cold ingredients gives the best results! Also, I only refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and it turned our perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
After a careful reading of the reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. I ended up using about 2/3 of the egg/liquid mixture (hence 4 stars) and put it in my freezer for an hour rather than the overnight chilling. I always roll out my crusts between to layers of plastic wrap - in this case it appears to have been more necessary than others. The result was a beautiful crust, tender and flaky, though I expect I'll not use this recipe as often as others as I'm concerned about the amount of fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a really good and easy to make crust. I need to double it for a 9" pie with a top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theAmish
Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have not found a better dough recipe! Every time I use this to make pie, it's raved about. Also used this to make biscuits for bbq cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Have been using this recipe for a few years now..LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Seasoned with steak spice and sun dried tomatos I wrapped BBQ'd sausages with this dough and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is an excellent pie crust .didnt keep it overnight though it turns out jst fine.cut down on the water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have been making some good pies for years now. I usually used the crust recipe from my 1976 Better Homes New Cook Book. The last couple pies I made I used this recipe and the difference in taste was incredible. I will not use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Really easy pie recipe, I am wheat and dairy free, so I used the same amounts of everything using spelt flour instead of wheat, and about 1/2 and 1/2 coconut oil and butter substitute instead of shortening. It was easy and it turned out wonderfully! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States